Skip navigation

Hello friends.
After much prayerful consideration it’s with a heavy heart that I announce to you that we’re ending Philmont after August.  It’s been an amazing journey for all of us involved.  Seven years ago when we held our first band practice in my parent’s house I never could have anticipated how blessed we would be in this musical endeavor.  We’ve had so many amazing opportunities to not only play shows and (hopefully touch lives) but also to meet so many incredible people along the way.
We’re all planning on sticking with this music thing for a while longer.  Josiah’s going off to pursue other opportunities and begin to focus on producing.  Josh, Brittany and I are writing for a new project and hope to tell you more about that soon.
A million thanks for all of you who stuck by our side through the tough times all well as the good.  We pray that our music will still continue to encourage listeners for years to come.
Our last and final show will be on August 31st at Lifelight SD.  We’ll be headlining the 360 stage that night.  It’s a free festival so go ahead and book your airline ticket now!

On a financial note Philmont is ending with a substantial amount of debt which will turn into personal debt.  We’re hoping to offset some of this by selling off our remaining merch.  (This will be available online starting early Sept)  If you’re interested in donating any money to help us out you can do so via PayPal (PhilmontPayPal@gmail.com).

We’ll also be selling off some other fun, non-merch stuff! (Stage boxes, banners, merch backdrop, etc.)
If you’re interested in making a donation in exchange for one of these items just send us an email and let us know what you want and what you’re willing to pay for it– Silent auction style.

We’ll continue to maintain the band Facebook page and monitor this blog– though not very frequently.  Feel free to follow us on our individual Facebook pages and Twitters to keep up with us post-Philmont.

It’s been a heck of a ride.  Thanks for being a part of it.

In Christ,
Scott Taube // Philmont

19 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on THE SCENE AS WE KNOW IT and commented:
    This is some of the saddest news I’ve reported on in a long time. I have had the privilege to meet all the members of Philmont on multiple occasions, and might I say that they are some of the most genuine, down to earth people anyone can meet. I have bought merch, CDs, and I am even staring at a Philmont poster I have on my wall as I write this. This band has helped me through some very tough times and have also contributed to me realizing that I want to be around music for the rest of my life. While it is with great displeasure that I compose this, I want to take the time to thank Philmont for the impact they have had on my life and to wish them only the best in their future endeavors.

  2. Such sad news, choosing to end things as a band is so very difficult. Many prayers for you all in this period and good luck in your future endeavors!
    And I will always be thankful that you played my little benefit concert Rock the Pantry a few years ago.

  3. Such sad news. Choosing to end things as a band is such a difficult thing to do. Many prayers for you all in this period and good luck in your next endeavors.
    I will always remember how you played my little benefit Rock the Pantry a few years ago! Thanks again!

  4. Hey, email me a list of audio and lighting stuff you want to sell.
    Thanks!
    Reno

  5. Last year, you guys played Ichthus three days in a row. And I saw every one of them. I was also privileged enough to get a Christmas card from you. I am very, very sad that you are ending, but I am happy that you all are off to do different things, things that you love. That’s the best thing you could ever do. I’m very sorry though that you are ending with debt. I know that if I could, I would send you any money that I could. I love you guys. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories, and I look forward to seeing what you do in the future.

  6. Hey guys, wow this is really sad news for me =( im really going to miss Philmont so much. Philmont was one of my favorite bands and the songs were so inspiring and helpful, its sad now cause im realizing i wont be buying any new philmont CD’s. the music you guys have made, has made such and impact on people all around the world. i pray God does more wonderful things in each of ur lives and that you guys continue to inspire people for many years to come. im really going to miss you guys so much. Thanks Philmont for being there through the good times and the bad times =)

  7. Scott Brittany, and Josh,
    We as fans, followers and brothers and sisters in Christ are sad to hear this news but understand that things change. We are here for you and If you need anything just contact us and we will see what we can do to help. You are always welcome here in Springfield, il. We will be praying for you all. Please keep in touch. Whenever you guys can get back out on the road again let us know.

    In Christs’ love
    Brother Bob Kennedy. (Powerlight).

  8. well this was a real downer, Scott! Philmont has meant a lot to me over the years, and I’m proud to say I’m a fan. I know I’ll continue to jam those tunes for years to come, especially ones that hit home for me (“Closer”). I’m excited to continue to support you, Josh and Britt with whatever God brings your way next! I’d like to do what I can to help you out with your new journey, so keep us posted! much love.

    • and I’ll definitely have that old Philmont backdrop hanging on my wall in no time!!!

  9. The end is where we begin

  10. Hey guys… this is really sad news indeed. Philmont has been my favorite band for many years now, and I’m sad to hear that y’all have come to this decision. However, we DO know that it is the right one. 🙂 Praying for each of y’all personally, as you head out, in different areas of life. Thanks for all the music… all the great shows. 🙂 It’s been absolutely amazing. Y’all are amazing. Love you guys.

  11. This is incredibly saddening. Thank you for all the effort, time, and money you’ve put into Philmont for us. I pray God blesses the journey ahead of you guys. Josiah I pray producing goes well for you. Josh, Scott, and Britt, I cannot wait to see what the future has in store for you. Love you guys!

  12. Aw guys! That’s sad news! Although I don’t know you in person, I’m definetly gonna miss you! I got to know you because of my best friend, she went to the Flevo festival when I was sick. She came back and made me a fan. It sucks so much that I didn’t had the chance to see you live, I would’ve loved that. Thanks for this awesome band and I wish you all the best for the future! Much love from Holland 🙂

  13. Aww you guys are awesome I’ve been a fan since your first ep and this is very sad information, plus my sister is going to freak when I tell her she loves u guys
    But if that’s what you feel the lord leading you to do I fully respect that.

  14. No!!!! 😦 I’m so sad about this but I trust God knows what He is doing always. Bless you guys. We are going to do all we can to see you at Lifelight. I’ll never forget the first time i saw you guys in little Moorcroft, WY. You’re amazing. You will be missed. -Summer Heath

  15. Reblogged this on shadowfeet and commented:
    Worst news ever.

  16. noooooooooioooooooooooooo,i love you u guys, i miss ur music sooo much. hope u have a good life. ahhhhh im soooooo sad.ur awesome.always in my heart brooklyn

  17. Hey you guys from Philmont

    i’m a fan of yours from Germany. When a friend of mine send me a message a few hours ago, that you’re going to end PHILMONT I was also a bit shocked and sad, but HEY Thanks for everything you had done! I enjoyed listening to your music a lot of times and I even used your song “The Difference” for our youth group one evening (maye you can remember, I wrote you a message at that time | was a good evening in the youth group by the war 🙂 .
    I really liked you beeing a band that not just called themself christian, but through your lyrics and the way you sang them, one could feel that your heart is truly near Jesus and that you long for doing the will of the father !!

    I wish you all and pray that God may continue blessing you on your way of life, that you may be able to repay your depts and that he will use you all to lead other people to our glorious God an father, to our saviour Jesus Christ!!

    Thanks for everything!

    greetings from Germany
    Domi

    ps: would have loved to see you guys life for one time, but i’m afraid the ticket to the US would be too expensive the next 1 1/2 months -.-

  18. Are you guys going to pursue other music projects?


Leave a Reply

