Skip navigation

Hey folks! I am in snowy Mammoth Lake, California right now. Which is only interesting because I woke up in sunny Phoenix, AZ yesterday morning. It is 14 degrees outside now, whereas yesterday was shorts/flip-flop weather in Arizona. Today our show is in Carson City, Nevada, where we will be reunited with our pal (and my name-twin) Josiah James! Also at the show will be the band I Am They, who we have not met before, but are looking forward to it!

So we spent a couple of days in Phoenix hanging out with some great friends. A little backstory: In January 2009, Philmont took its first trip to the West Coast, in our brand new bus Burnie, to play at RageFest in Phoenix, and subsequently begin the Out of Control tour with Capital Lights and A Rotterdam November. We ended up spending a lot of time in the Phoenix area that month, and made a lot of friends in the process. It’s always great to get back out there and hang with all those peeps whenever we can.

So while we were in Phoenix this time, we played an acoustic house show (all these shows have been acoustic of late, ICYF [ <–abbreviation for "In Case You Forgot", to save space]) at the Van de Kamp family's house, where we were staying. We got their backyard all set up with chairs, blankets, lights, candles, and a fire pit, and hoped for the best. It ended up being one of the most fun shows of 2012 thus far! Had about 50 people in that backyard, singing along and having a good time. And if I'm correct (and I sometimes am), we played our longest set in Philmont history that night. I believe it was 20 songs – this included 4 brand new tunes, 4 cover songs, some requests, and of course our normal slew of Philmont classics (ha!) It was really great.

On the home front, I have five more Saturdays as a free man! My wedding day is fast approaching, and, as you might imagine, I have a diverse cocktail of feelings buzzing around – mostly excitement though. I was thinking the other day, that I haven't had a major life change like this since I moved away to college in 2005. And even that wasn't as drastic of a shift, because I still didn't have many responsibilities, and I came home every weekend. So yeah, I'm a little apprehensive, but totally stoked. My fiancée is the bomb.

Have a great week, and don't forget to floss!

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. "Poison" by Shiny Toy Guns

2. "Nothing But Our Love" by Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

3. "You Can Do Better Than Me" by Death Cab for Cutie

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

