Skip navigation

Hey er’body,

 

          A couple of weeks ago when we played in Myrtle Beach, SC there was a lot of talk going around about shag dancing. Apparently it’s a really big deal around that part of SC and I had no idea. Well this past weekend my girlfriend, Lauren, and her friend, TIm, competed in the National Shag Dance Competition preliminaries and I got to tag along! We got to the club later than we wanted to the first night, but we still got to catch what they called “Shagging With The Stars.” Where local, well-known business owners, or other members of the community were given 12 hours worth of shag lessons by professionals and then danced before the pro competition on the first night. We got to see all of them and some were definitely faster learners than others, but it was all very impressive. I can’t imagine trying to learn anything from scratch in 12 hours (especially dancing) and performing in front of a large crowd. But these people did a great job.. From what I could tell, anyway. I’ll admit I know next to nothing about any kind of dance. 

          The next night was Lauren and Tim’s turn to perform. They were a part of the collegiate part of the competition. They represented College of Charleston. They’re competition was a pair of dancers from North Carolina State University and another pair from East Carolina University. Once everyone had performed, there was a board of judges that took a little bit of time to talk about things they liked about the performance or something someone might need to work on a little bit. Then they let the audience cheer for who they thought should win, which was 1/3 of deciding who won. The other 2/3 was decided by the judges themselves. NC State ended up taking first place, then Lauren and Tim, then ECU (Sorry Scott and Britt). Lauren and Tim danced beautifully and everyone I talked to was saying that they should have gotten first place, but NC State “brought the congregation” so naturally they got the biggest crowd response. It was my first time watching Lauren dance in any kind of professional setting and I was/am so very proud of her and can’t wait to see more of it in the future. If any of you would like to watch some quality shag dancing, I filmed their performance and you can view it by clicking here

          I know you guys have been hearing a lot about our acoustic ep lately! And it’s almost finished I promise! We’ve tracked everything and it’s only a matter of editing and mixing, then within the next couple of weeks, you’ll be able to have it. We’re pretty excited about the way it’s turning out and I can’t wait for you guys to get a hold of it! 

          We’ve got a whole lot of shows coming up in the near future, so please go check out our schedule and see if we’re coming to play anywhere near you! It would be awesome to make some new friends, or see some old ones again. Until then, thanks for reading and I’ll see you next Tuesday!

Josh

5 Comments

    • Elizabeth R. (Lizzi)
    • Posted January 31, 2012 at 11:02 PM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    That was AWESOME!! I don’t believe that I have ever seen shag before. That was way COOL!!

  1. That was awesome!! I do not believe I have ever seen shag dancing before. That was really cool!!

  2. ummm they dance funny.i’ve nvr seen anyone dance lk tht before.lol but they did great!

  3. 1) I’m stoked about this acoustic ep.
    2) Lauren dances UHMAZING.

  4. comon Philmont. COME TO FLORIDA!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

