Skip navigation

Good evening to you all. Good morning to some of you.

I read a rather disturbing blog post today about Mars Hill Church (huge mega-church in Seattle pastored by Mark Driscoll). Some of you may have seen this already, and although the source seems legitimate, I can’t say for sure that everything is 100% factual; but if it is, it is tragic. Take a few minutes and read this story. Make sure you read Part Two as well, and let me know what you think about the whole thing.

To change gears completely, how much soda do you drink? Have you ever tried going a week without it? I stopped drinking it regularly in high school (2004-ish), because I was serious about baseball and wanted to be properly hydrated / not full of sugar. In college I pretty much narrowed it down to water and tea, and have continued that trend to this day (with the exception of my recent addition – coffee!) Admittedly, I will have a Mountain Dew or a Cheerwine every now and then (once every other month, maybe), but if I have it before 3pm or so, my stomach hurts for several hours. That right there is cause enough for me to not get back into drinking it – my body rejects it naturally. Another particular tale of victory over soda occurred this past year between Scott Taube and Diet Coke. I never saw the guy drink anything but Diet Coke for YEARS. Finally, in 2011, he resolved to kick the habit, succeeded, and is now on a steady diet of water and the occasional Red Bull. ANYWAY, you should check out this article about some of the lesser-known risks involved with drinking soda often. Try to avoid it for a week – see how it goes.

This week my fiancée and I have been looking for a place to live once we are married. Like most of the stuff we have been working on for the past few months, this is both exciting and stressful! We’re thinking we will probably stay in the Charlotte area for 6 months to a year, all the while saving money to make the big move to Nashville. We’re definitely open to change these plans, should we feel God leading us in a different direction, but that is our blueprint for now. Pray for us if you think about it!

Now, your final assignment: listen to this beautiful song.

Have a grand week.

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “Towers” by Bon Iver

2. “Human Error” by We Were Promised Jetpacks

3. “Do You Think I’m Pretty?” by He Is Legend

Photobucket

2 Comments

  1. I don’t think I agree with any of that at, Mars Hill Church. I would have done the same thing as Andrew.

    We call it pop in the midwest 😉 I only drink it once or twice a week. Water’s my favortie drink 🙂

  2. wow guess whos not drinking soda anymore?…….me!lol thts just crazy.does tht count for energy drinks too cuz im lk addicted to monster and tht would really stink.


Leave a Reply

