Skip navigation

Hey guys,

Hope your week is going well. We had a fun quick time in Myrtle Beach SC playing a couple of shows. Thanks to our buddies Davey Davenport and Josh Duckworth for helping us out on bass and drums, respectively. And to my buddy Jordan Staley for letting me borrow his Telecaster to play for these shows! Anyway, it was too cold to go on the beach, but we enjoyed some nice views from our hotel rooms, as well as some jacuzzi time.

I started what’s called an ‘inductive Bible study’ this week with a group of people from my old church. This particular study will be covering the book of John for eleven weeks. I can’t remember if I told you all last year about the study we did on the book of Joshua, but it was really amazing. Basically, in an inductive Bible study, you have a ‘curriculum’, if you will, that consists of a walkthrough of the whole book, plus lots of study tools, maps, charts, and homework!

I’m sure all of you students are like “Um, this sounds like school, and school is lame!!” And you’re right. But school is mainly lame because you’re probably studying things you don’t really care about or think you will use in the future. In this class, however, I will be diving deep into the Word of God, upon which I stake my faith and my salvation; not only is it valuable to my life, but it is exciting to learn more about! The homework consists of searching for word origins/meanings, looking up related passages in other parts of the Bible, and really just reading the material over and over, letting it soak into your mind and spirit. It’s amazing how much you can discover by just repetitively reading the same set of verses from a particular chapter. Too often I’ve been guilty of reading my Bible as a mechanical ritual – just scanning my eyes through a chapter without really absorbing what is being said. This Bible study is helping me to dig into God’s Word with passion and confidence, knowing that I will be rewarded for my efforts. It’s great!

If you ever feel the same about your less-than-perfect Bible-reading habits (or lack thereof), work on it! Start writing down your thoughts in a journal as you read. Read a chapter twice instead of once. Read it out loud. Do whatever it takes that you may truly glean wisdom and understanding from the Holy Spirit. The Bible is not a storybook or an instruction pamphlet – it is your Heavenly Father’s holy and living letter to YOU. Treat it that way!

I’m working on some top secret recordings this week….shhh….

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “9 Crimes” by Damien Rice

2. “Geraldine” by Glasvegas

3. “If You Don’t, Don’t” by Jimmy Eat World

Photobucket

2 Comments

  1. Hey Philmont,

    Could you guys put on a concert in Montana? My husband & I could be your tour guides here and even get accommodations set up for you and yours. We so enjoy your music!! We’d love to see you guys out here.

    Sincerely,

    Jill & Rick

  2. tht was encourging


Leave a Reply

