Skip navigation

Happy New Year!
I know I’m the 3 and final blog to touch on this subject but, hey, it’s a new year! And, according to the Mayan calendar it’s the last year. Don’t worry I’m not going to post a long drawn-out lesson on the history of the Mayan calendar and my thoughts and feelings about the prediction that the world will end in December…No, instead here’s a comic strip:

Moving on!
I know that a lot of you have resolutions every year. Sometimes it’s the same resolution over and over. The theme for me seems to be, take better care of myself physically (eat healthy, work out, don’t punch myself in the face, etc), read more and keep up with a blog.
I’ll give myself a solid B- for this last year! For some of you overachievers this may constitute a frowny face but in my book- anything above a C is above average and thus will suffice.
On the Eat Healthy front I kicked a BAAAAD Diet Coke habit back in March and haven’t touched the stuff since. I’ve also been taking a multivitamin every day and using moisturizer (that’s right…I said it). I need to beef up the physical exercise portion of this revolving resolution this year thought.
Reading more? Eh, a couple of books here and there. We have some fly dates coming up and since I can’t sleep on airplanes and my laptop battery won’t last the whole trip I’ll probably get another couple of books under my belt.
Keeping Up with a blog- (outside of this one). I’ve been okay. I started a Tumblr (ScottyMcTaube.Tumbler.com) but I cheat and most of my posts are updated from my Instagram so….that one’s a gray area.

How did you guys do on your resolutions this past year?

I think a great bible verse for this time of year is Philippians 4:12: “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

How killer would it be to be in that sort of head space when someone asks you, “So, any New Years resolutions this year?”
It’s like saying, “This year- like all of them- had it’s ups and downs but I’ve learned how to be happy with whatever life throws my way.”

Honestly, as believers, we should have this attitude. I had a particularly stressful year. Extreme ups and extreme downs but through all of it I was taken care of. I always had the strong feeling that God was overseeing everything and I never felt alone– Bummed? Sure. Depressed? At times. But never alone. I would love to get to the point where I’m just flat out thrilled with whatever life hands me because in spite of everything there’s a God out there who loves me and is passionate about seeing me succeed.

Thanks for reading guys and supporting us through this past year. Please keep Philmont in your prayers in 2012 as well!
-Scott
Photobucket

2 Comments

  1. lol funny comic.

  2. That is definitely my New Year’s Resolution. 🙂 Thank you Scott for reminding me… God’s love is greatest. 🙂


Leave a Reply

