Skip navigation

Hey Guys and Gals,
It’s been quite a while since we’ve updated this which is out of character for us!
Things have been crazy on our end. We’ve been balancing the drummer search with all the post-accident stuff all while trying to keep playing shows. It’s been nutty.
Since we’re auditioning drummers and using fill-ins we have to have a full band practice before every trip to train up “the new guy”. It’s a bit exhausting and I’m ready for the search to conclude! Got a couple more hopefuls hitting the road with us this month so I’m hoping we can make a decision soon.
I wanted to share a bible verse I read the other day. It’s one I frequent and it’s even written on an index card and taped to my mirror at home. It’s from 2 Timothy 1:7 and says,
“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.” (KJV)
I usually quote the NIV or Message version of scripture but I love that the King James Version uses the word Fear. God has not given us the spirit of fear. We’re not made to be fearful people making decisions based on what’s safe.

I can honestly say that it’s been a rough couple of weeks for me for a number of different reasons. This verse really hit me hard when I read it last week. I feel like I’ve been looking at uncertainties in the future with a spirit of fear and not a spirit of power. It’s easy to get caught up assuming the worst. Maybe the worst will happen…that’s fine- the thought then has to be that God is in control and that he has a plan for my life AND this particular situation is a part of that bigger plan. Easier said than done- I know but I’m working on it. My challenge for myself (and you if you’re up to it) is to face bad news with that spirit of power instead of fear. I want my first reaction to be “God’s got this” and not “Holy crap, what now?!”

Thanks for taking the time to read. I’ll do better to post more consistently from now on! These blogs are just as much for me as they are you.

View our upcoming shows here!

Photobucket

2 Comments

    • Mimi Smigielski
    • Posted September 23, 2011 at 9:32 AM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Hi Philmont,
    We just saw on Facebook that you are looking for a Drummer!! We love your music and songs! Great Testimony. Well…my son, John has been a drummer since he was little…plays drums everyday and his dream would be to have the honor of playing with your band! Your band is his FAVORITE!! We came to your concert and loved meeting everyone in your band….everyone was soooooo nice and talented too!! He would love to use the talents God gave him, to share His love with the world! John has performed in many shows and concerts…he is currently in college Majoring in Percussion….but could put that on hold for an opportunity to perform with your band. He plays drum set, xylophone, bell set, bongos, piano, keyboard, and guitar. He has had private drum lessons for many years. He reads Music and loves God with all of his heart! He has attend the Christian Music Summit for several years and taken drum classes from ZORO, Tony Morra, and Carl Albrecht. He plays drum set to ALL your songs ALL of the time! I would love to have you hear him perform…thank you so much..we look forward to hearing from you : )

    • Mimi Smigielski
    • Posted September 23, 2011 at 10:00 AM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Hi…I left a comment about Philmont looking for a drummer. Can you please email me …it was about my son auditioning for your band as a drummer. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

