Skip navigation

Well we are about halfway through our Texas run, and it has been a pretty fun time so far. Surprisingly the heat has not been incredibly miserable to me. I guess we have made a point of spending as much time indoors as possible, including many visits to the pool at whatever hotel we are staying. We have become experts at getting a mean whirlpool going, and finding Josh’s plugs when they inexorably fall out of his ears and sink to the bottom. There have been some really fun shows so far, and we’ve met a lot of cool new friends. Hopefully more to come when we play in Temple tonight, and the Dallas area tomorrow and Sunday!

In other news, I began a conscious effort last week to start drinking coffee. I have never liked it, per se, but I never really cared to like it. I am pretty picky about what I drink, actually. In high school I pretty much eliminated sodas from my regular diet, and even now I only have a soda maybe once a month or so. I have essentially limited my liquid consumption to water, juice, and sweet tea – I am proud of this. And yet, there’s just something about the idea of coffee – something classy and sophisticated – that fascinates me. On top of that, I always have friends who want to “go get coffee”, which always means them getting coffee and me getting whatever non-coffee chocolate frappuccino is available (total n00b, right?) Anyway, I made my mind up, and I started getting coffee in the mornings, and at shows whenever it is available to us. I am definitely liking it! What are your favorite coffee drinks, or types of coffee?

Also, let the record show that I coined the phrase “Death and Texas” this week (you know, like a pun on the saying that two things are sure in life: death and taxes?) Anyway, I told Josh he should use it for the hardcore band he will inevitably launch one day. So if he tries to say he came up with it, don’t listen to him.

Once we return from Texas, we have a couple of “local” shows back to back. We are playing in Concord, NC on the 19th, and Gastonia, NC on the 20th. Good times are sure to be had.

Have a wonderful week. Don’t fear the reaper.

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “Hallelujah” by Jeff Buckley

2. “Don’t Fear the Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult

3. “Opus 40” by Mercury Rev

Photobucket

6 Comments

  1. I’m hoping to make it to the Sunday show! Can’t wait to meet you guys in person. Anything Starbucks has is pretty good imo.

  2. Hopefully we’ll be seeing you Sunday, Josiah! 🙂 Hahahahahaha, Starbucks is awesome… I feel that it’s not real coffee though, due to the extreme amounts of sugar in it, haha! 🙂

  3. Hey Buddy,

    Glad you guys are having an awesome time in TX. It is not as hot as it has been in charlotte we have been getting alot of rain this week. So did you guys ever find a new drummer yet or are you still on the search for one. Also me and Michelle would love to try and make it out to your show in Concord on the 19th. We will need to check our work schdules. Also I would like for you to pray for me about something. I am trying to start a solo project by playing the keys and some guitar. And knowing that I have never done music on my own before is going to make it intresting.

    well take care and you and Philmont are in my prayers

    -Justin Baucom

  4. hey Josiah!! =D awesome blog(as always lol) thats cool ur liking coffee =P honestly im not a fan of coffee ,ive tried so many times to drink it but it just kinda makes me gag lol i love tea though =D not super sweet tea through( dont like a whole lot of sugar in my drink lol) but i do have a soft spot for certain sodas lol i dont drink them very much though , but like pepsi , dr.pepper and cherry dr.pepper , love em lol ok i think ive went on with this to long , so ill say bye =D have fun

  5. #1. LOVE “Don’t Fear the Reaper”. Great suggestion and one of my all-time favs.

    #2. I just learned yesterday that coffee helps your memory and assists in warding off Altzheimer’s. My father had that. I am not a coffee drinker either. Love to smell it though when Josh cranks up his little coffee-pot. But after hearing how it is now “good for you” I may have to start learning to like it too…if I can remember to do it! Uh oh! Is it too late for me??

    #3. “Death and Texas”? Very clever play on words and a great name for a screamo-band. You’re so witty.

    #4. In the 80’s this week in NC!!! Ya’ll come back now, ya hear?

    #5. See you guys Friday night!!! ❤

  6. I am a random person who came here through a google search. I just wanted to tell you that I thought I had invented “death and Texas” as well, but sadly that is false.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_and_Texas


Leave a Reply

