Skip navigation

I am sitting on my bed watching Jay Leno. Take in this moment, because it’s one of the rare times you will ever hear me say that phrase. Tonight is a special occasion however, as the wonderful Vanessa Carlton is performing on the show. Her new album “Rabbits on the Run” just came out yesterday, and I am about to listen to it for the first time…well, she just performed and it was awesome. Now I am going to start the record. Cool thing about this album: it was all recorded to reel-to-reel tape using analog production (in contrast to a huge majority of today’s music, which is all digitally recorded and edited). The tracks were then mixed, mastered, and pressed onto vinyl, where they were played back and recorded digitally so they could be pressed onto CDs and released as mp3s. It may sound like a lot of work, but it creates a totally different kind of sound and dynamic on the final product. I bought it in CD format, but it sounds so big and warm – especially the piano and drums – as if I were listening to an LP on a turntable.

Anyway, we are flying to sunny Californ-I-A on Friday for a show – the capital city of Sacramento to be exact. Playing with Fireflight and Chasen at the West Coast edition of the Youth 2011 conference we played in Indiana a couple weeks ago. If it’s anything like the Indiana chapter, it will be a great weekend. Even if it’s not, I love flying! Especially when I don’t have to pay for it! Definitely looking forward to it.

I recently finished reading the book of Acts (for the 2nd time in a row), so I started on the book of James this past week. My mom and my fianceĂ© participated in a Bible study on James recently, and their newfound enthusiasm for it inspired me to dive into it. So I’ve been taking it one chapter at a time, with three nights in a row dedicated to each chapter (i.e. mon-wed = chapter 1, thurs-sat = chapter 2, etc…), and it really is full of goodness! Tonight is my last night reading chapter 3, which talks about the tongue, and how much influence it has on our lives. To paraphrase one of the verses, “the same tongue that we use to praise God, we use to curse men, who are made in the likeness of God.” This is pretty convicting, eh? Goal for the week: use my tongue more for edifying than for discouraging.

Welp, this Vanessa Carlton album is pretty flipping amazing. I’m going to give two recommendations from it below, as well as a tune from a little-known British group. Next week we leave for Texas, where we will be for a couple weeks. If you live in Texas, we are probably playing relatively close to you. Check out our dates on our Facebook page! Bye now!

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “London” by Vanessa Carlton

2. “The Marching Line” by Vanessa Carlton

3. “She’s Leaving Home” by The Beatles

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

