Skip navigation

Hey there guys and ladies. Sorry for the tardiness on my blog this week. It’s been a good week so far. We had a handful of off-days in Nashville where I stayed with our buddy Matt Arcaini and enjoyed dining at a few Nashville restaurants that I hadn’t been to before. Now we are in Naperville, IL, where (as Scott mentioned before me) we stayed with our great friends the Hill family last night. Josh and I got up this morning and went to the neighborhood pool with Andrea, the daughter, who took some great pics of us doing sweet moves off the diving board. Check them out on Josh’s Facebook.

We have a show tonight in Orland Park, then we will drive through the night to Wilmore, Kentucky to take part in our 4th year in a row at Ichthus Festival. I am pretty excited about this festival, as long as the weather holds up (Ichthus is notorious for experiencing terrible inclement weather nearly every year). Then we have 3 consecutive shows in Indiana, then we go home for a while.

My youngest brother Stephen graduated from high school this past Tuesday! I’m super proud of him, but bummed that I couldn’t be at the ceremony. But when I get home next week, our whole family is celebrating by taking a pontoon boat out on Lake Norman for the day. Should be good times!

I’m listening to the new, self-titled Bon Iver record right now. It is really beautiful music – kinda reminds me of a stripped-down, folky version of Paper Route. I also got the new Fleet Foxes album recently; I’ve only listened about halfway through so far, but it sounds good – not much of a departure from their debut.

I’m currently reading C.S. Lewis’ “Out of the Silent Planet”. It is kind of a sci-fi story about an English man who ends up on a planet outside our solar system that has its own life forms, landscapes, and social systems. He finds that there are three kinds of conscious creatures inhabiting the planet – they are all very different in appearance and in habits, but they all work together for the greater good of their world. As the protagonist tries to explain how Earth is, and how humans behave toward each other, he finds he has a hard time describing the reasons for wars and economic systems and what not, and he learns a lot from this planet’s way of life. Anyway, I’m about 2/3 through it right now, and it is definitely a great read.

Well, that’s about everything for me right now. Maybe I’ll have more to write about next week. Until then, have a wonderful weekend, and I hope you’re all enjoying the summertime!

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “Hinnom, TX” by Bon Iver
2. “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” by The Beatles
3. “Water and Bridges” by Dashboard Confessional

Photobucket

3 Comments

  1. Hope you have a safe set at Icthus! Wish I could be there, so many awesome bands there. That book sounds like my kind of book, I’m putting it on hold at my library.

  2. Awesome! I just recently started listening to Bon Iver, especially his song “Skinny Love”. I’m trying to learn that one on guitar. I’m glad to hear you like ’em somewhat, so atleaset I know they’re pretty good. 🙂
    Hope y’all have fun at the festivals this summer! DUDE, it’s hot outside, so drink lots of water. Y’all drop by Texas sometime (preferably DFW) so we can hang out again and hear some real good tunes!

  3. love that book! 🙂


Leave a Reply

