Skip navigation

Hi kiddos

I finally have time to sit down and write a blog. Since we got back yesterday I’ve been working and had so much to do. Last Monday you may not know but I woke up with severe pain in my sides and stomach. I immediately became scared because I, Justin, never get sick or nauseous. So I tried everything I could to get comfortable. I tried laying on the AC vent in the bathroom as a last resort. Eventually after two hours I couldnt take anymore and had my Pops take me to the E.R where I did not find John Stamos. TV is a lie.

After I finally get to the hospital and my family all meets there super worried I did my best to assure them eventually I’d be okay although I was making faces of a woman in labor and holding my stomach. I get to the back and they test all my vitals and whatnot. Finally after what seems like eternity they give me an I.V and pump me with some nausea meds and Morphine’s bigger stronger brother that I dont remember the name of. I proceeded to passout in my hospital bed wearing my sweet gown and it was such a relief that I hardly remember the nurses strolling me into the CT scanning room where they later concluded….. *drumroll*…… I had a kidney stone!

Yep, a kidney stone more commonly known as Ureterolithiasis. It couldn’t have come at a worse time cause Philmont was about to hit the road in two days! So my number one goal was to pass this sucka!! I read all the tips, tried every remedy and tried everything that other people I know did when they had them. It just wasnt working. Evenutally the time came to decide whether or not I could go on the little four date run. Being drugged up on pain killers I obviously couldnt drive so Wednesday night I called Scott and told him I was going to brave the trip with meds in hand. So after him and Jerms drove an hour to get me and Burney the bus we went back to Charlotte where we would spend the night and head out super early to Ohio.

So we had the Ohio show and I felt great, the stone didnt bother me during the performance. I kept doing my usual cranberry juice chugging and med taking and made it through that night thanks to the lovely hotel and their cloud like beds.

The next day was looking bright. I had a full nights rest and seemed to have caught little fragments of the stone in my Urologist issued urine strainer that morning. Now by this time if you’re getting grossed out, I warned you in the title that it could be gross….

To make a short story long… We went to the sweet mall in Cincinnati, saw a awesome rock singer, had the urge, and surprise! passed my stone without pain because it had broken up in tiny pieces. The rest of the trip went according to plan. We had a great time at Agape fest and was sad to see the end of our little run with EleventySeven.

Oh and of course I kept the little devil that brought me to my knees. So kids stay away from excess caffeine and soft drinks.

Until next time..
Photobucket

5 Comments

  1. Woohoo, Justin’s back! πŸ™‚ Glad to hear you’re feeling way better! That’s a scary thing to happen, good grief! We Philmonts were praying for you. πŸ™‚ Glad to hear you’re back on the road, and thanks for that advice! Those are some dangerous drug-like materials. πŸ™‚

  2. Ahhhh, Justin! I’m so so happy you’re okay! & I’m glad you could make it to Agapefest! Being my second time seeing you all at Agape, you all did great and sounded awesome just like the first time!

  3. Aww it’s so good to hear you’re feeling better now! So all the family/friends/Philmonstersprayers worked. πŸ™‚ Think you’re rested enough to come over to the Netherlands for a little show soon? (a) Well, take it easy for the upcoming days with caffeine and soft drinks! πŸ˜‰ We don’t want to worry so much about you again(this also counts for the rest of the band)! Love, Nathalie

  4. Glad to hear you’re feeling better Justin! So the prayers from family/friends and Philmonsters worked! πŸ™‚ Good to hear! Well, take it easy for the upcoming days(not only with caffeine and softdrinks), cause we don’t wanna worry so much about you again! (This also counts for Scott, Josh, Josiah and Jeremi!) And uhm.. when you feel like it, please come over to Holland for an amazing show? (a) Much love, Nathalie

  5. Wow, glad you’re feeling better, you did great at Agapefest!


Leave a Reply

