Skip navigation

Hi again!

This week was great! I know Scott already talked about our shows on the Hard Pop Life tour with Eleventyseven and how awesome they were so I won’t talk much about that. But I will say there were some great crowds at these shows. You guys were great to play for and I already can’t wait to get back to OH, IN, IL, and TN.

As of tomorrow Lauren will be finished with all of her exams for school and thus completed another year of college. I’m so proud of that girl and how hard she works. She gets home tomorrow so I’m going to go visit her family down in Spartanburg, SC for a few days. It’s been too long since I’ve seen her and even longer since I’ve seen her family so I’m really excited about that. (I miss you Dustin, I better get to see that handsome face of yours)

Sunday is Mother’s Day! For those of you who may have forgotten. Be sure to tell your moms that you love them and appreciate everything they do for you every day.

I sold my Ford Probe! Thanks to my brother-in-law Ira. Love that guy.

Are you guys familiar with Cicadas? Supposedly they only show they’re ugly little faces every 13 years.. So most of you reading this have probably never seen one. They cling onto trees and lay their eggs, which fall to the ground. They then burrow themselves underground where they develop and stay for most of the remainder of their years. According to www.thestate.com , “As ground temperatures approach 64 degrees, the four species of 13-year cicadas will dig out at night from burrows where they have sucked sap from roots for more than a decade.”
All of that to say.. When I left my house this morning I heard their “song” that the males sing and had no idea what it was. The last time I heard them I was somewhere around 9 years old. So we went on a little cicada hunt. We just had a hunch that when we aren’t looking, cicadas have very similar lifestyles to you and me.. And we were right. I took pictures to prove it. Just a little warning: What you are about to see might frighten you.

20110503-103922.jpg

20110503-104012.jpg

20110503-104035.jpg

20110503-104050.jpg

20110503-104108.jpg

20110503-104119.jpg

20110503-104132.jpg

4 Comments

  1. This didn’t frighten me, it made me crack up! 😀 Love this awesome cicada shoot, Josh, you are super hilarious! Probably one of the most creative things I’ve ever seen.
    I’m keeping up with y’all’s schedule and hope to see a TX date on there soon.

    • Kacey (A.K.A: your favortie cousin)
    • Posted May 4, 2011 at 7:20 AM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Joshua, I love you! We have been hearing the cicadas call for over a week! At first we honestly thought that there was an alarm going off somewhere in the vicinity. I’m impressed with your knowledge and your photography skills, too. You must have some Wanda in you. Well, enjoy the time with Lauren and her family. Safe travels.

  2. Haha that’s great!! I used to love those things. I didn’t know they only come up every 13 years.

  3. We had cicadas like crazy at Ichthus 2008!


Leave a Reply

