Skip navigation

Hello again!

It’s almost Easter and to celebrate, Lauren, David, my mom and I all sat down and made Sugar Easter Eggs. My mom had made some years ago, but for the rest of us it was our first time. Let me tell you.. It takes some patience. First you take a few cups of sugar and mix it with a small amount of water so it will harden eventually. Then add food coloring to the mixture (I chose green). We had some oversized plastic eggs that we used for the molds and packed the colored sugar into each half of the egg. We then turned them over and placed our molds (minus the plastic eggs) onto a cookie sheet and baked them for about 5 minutes, just to speed up the hardening process. After letting them cool for a while, we took a spoon and hollowed out each half of the egg. I’m gonna stop there for a second to tell you about how difficult this step was for us. I got all the way to the point where I was almost finished carving out my second half and it crumbled in my hands. The same thing happened to Lauren. But poor David went through 6 egg halves before he got his to stay together. The good thing about this project is the ingredients are reusable, so when that happens we just put the crumbled sugar back in the mold and start all over. Once you get both halves carved out, you can put a little scene in the bottom half, all out of royal icing, which hardens when it dries. For example: I put a little chicken in mine, beside an easter egg, and behind the both of them was a very festive tree. All on top of green royal icing made to look like grass. Then you put some icing on the top edge of the bottom half of the egg and essentially glue the two halves together. You can see the whole inside scene from a hole in the front of the egg. Then you take the icing, or stickers, or whatever you want to decorate the outside of the egg. Make it your own! Sorry I don’t have pictures up yet to show you, but I’ll have some up on Facebook soon.

Longest paragraph ever. Good thing I’m not being graded on this.

On Saturday we all drove down to the Catawba River in South Carolina and went running around on the rocks trying to stay out of the water. Though it was nice and warm outside, the water was still too cold to swim in. While we were out, the skies blackened and we started hearing some thunder and saw some lightening in the distance. When mom finally dragged us out of there, it couldn’t have been with better timing. What we thought was going to be just another great thunder storm, turned into the best hail storm I’ve ever been through. We had to drive about 15mph all the way home because of the golfball-size chunks of solid ice falling from the sky. They were slamming into the roof and on the windshield. I’m honestly surprised all of the glass is still in one piece. When we finally got back to the house, guess who got voted to take the umbrella and go unlock the door for everyone else.. (suggestion, not a question.) This guy. Luckily for me I wasn’t hit with anything but rain.

Also, if you’ve ever wondered how to figure out which Sunday Easter is going to fall on, the easiest way is to just remember that every year it’ll be the first Sunday after the first full moon after the vernal equinox. If I’m not mistaken.

What a great weekend. Now it’s back to my 12 hour shifts for a few more days, then I get to go home and relax for a few days before we start some writing sessions again! See you all next week!
Photobucket

One Comment

  1. The sugar eggs sound really cute! I would love to see pics on facebook!


Leave a Reply

