Skip navigation

As I’m sure most of you have read about by now, my family had to put down our sweet dog Kasey yesterday. It’s been a very sad couple of days. Philmont returned home on Sunday from a weekend of shows, and pretty much within 15 minutes of getting back to my house, my parents informed me that Kasey had stopped eating due to her kidneys failing. The past year or so she has been having mild health problems, but she had been taking pills and doing fine, so it was kind of an all-of-a-sudden change of direction for her over the weekend.

Kasey didn’t eat for four days straight, and only drank water a couple of times. She was living off whatever fats and nutrients she had stored in her body, but she would eventually have starved. We all realized what had to happen. My brothers and I decided that we wanted her final resting place to be at our old house in Mint Hill, NC, where all of us (Kasey included) had grown up. It’s a house on a hill with a huge yard that she used to run through and chase squirrels around when she was young and full of energy. We felt like it would be the best place for her. So about an hour after getting home from a weekend of shows, I went with my dad to the old house, and we dug a grave. The man who we sold the house to was very gracious to let us come back and do this there. We took Kasey with us, as she hadn’t been back to the house since we left; and it was amazing how she livened up when we got there – she could barely walk this weekend, but she walked all around the yard sniffing things and perking her ears up. It really confirmed for us that we had chosen the right place.

It took about an hour for the two of us to dig out a (roughly) 3’x5′ hole, 2 feet deep, and let me tell you, digging a grave is a labor of love. Seriously, it was freaking hard work, I couldn’t imagine having to dig a proper grave for a person like they used to do in the olden days!

With the location prepared, we planned to take Kasey to the vet on Monday to let her go. However, it thunder-stormed really bad that evening, so we got to enjoy one more night of her company. Then yesterday (Tuesday), my family met up around 4pm to take her to the animal hospital. The doctor walked us through what she was going to do, and what to expect. The room was full of tears as we sat with Kasey while the doctor administered the solution – and within a minute, she had passed. They wrapped her in a blanket, and we took her to the gravesite. My mom put a bouquet of flowers in the grave with Kasey. We covered her up, we said a prayer, and said goodbye.

We had Kasey for just about half my life. I know I will sound biased, but I truly can say that she was the friendliest, most well-behaved animal I have ever known. In our neighborhood, we have never had to tie Kasey up outside. We literally let her go free outside all day most times, because we knew she would never go outside the circle of houses surrounding ours. She was friends with all our neighbors, and would sit with them on their porches or their sidewalks when she was out. She never bit a stranger, or chewed up furniture, or disobeyed at all. She was the best!

Sorry if it seems like a big long ramble, but this is my eulogy for one of my greatest companions, so you can deal with it! Thanks for reading, and for all the kind comments and prayers I have received. Rest in peace Kasey: September 29, 1998 – March 1, 2011

Photobucket

12 Comments

  1. Ohhhhhh, Josiah. I am in tears after reading this. How blessed you were to have such a wonderful friend and companion in Kasey. I am a huge dog lover, and I’ve been through a similar experience with one of my buds, a pug named Mugsy. Those amazing bundles of fur are, in my opinion, one of the best examples of God’s unconditional love for us. My heart just hurts for you, knowing how difficult it is. I will pray for you and your family for comfort and peace.

    Lisa

  2. Josiah, I’m sorry about Kasey. 😦 I know what it’s like to lose that kind of friend, we had to put down our dog, Duke, about 5yrs ago. We’d had him for 13yrs. There were lots of tears for us on that day too. I still miss him. Praying for you and your family.

  3. Josiah,
    i’m SO sorry for your loss. We had a cat that i got when i was 5 and he lived til i was out of the house and married. He lived almost 18 years so i know what it’s like to lose a pet that has been such a huge part of your life. It truly is like losing a family member. You and your family will be in my prayers.
    i love you Professor 🙂

    extra big ((HUGS))
    your friend,
    ~kimberly

  4. i’m sorry for your loss Josiah, i know exactly how you feel! 😦 last summer we had to put our dog down, and it was strange for me cuz i can’t ever remember her not being around(i was about 2 when we got her). we buried her in our backyard, wrapped in blankets and with a tennis ball. fetching a tennis ball was her favorite game. 🙂 thanks for posting, i’ll be praying for you and your family.

  5. I’m sharing your tears, my friend. What a sweet tribute to your faithful companion.

  6. Awww, I’m sorry about Kasey Josiah. But you’re absolutely right. Dogs are definitely like one of the family. I love dogs, and I’m going to be just like this when my dog leaves too.
    Praying for y’all, Josiahiah. Hope y’all get to feeling better on the double.

  7. Tears are streaming down my face after reading this beautiful memoriam. Animals truly are ‘little people in fur.’ Praying for you and your family, Josiah.

  8. O, Josiah
    That was not rambling. That was just beautiful, beautiful love from the heart. As I read it I have tears in my eyes as well. I share your pain and love that you have for your pet Kasey. I have had to do the same to many of my beautiful pets too. And it never gets any easlier either. They are our family too. I had to do just the same two years ago on Dec 27, 2008. A couple of weeks right after my brother pasted away on Dec7, 2008. What a hard hit it all was. But i do believe that God has all the animals with him too. He sure did bless us with some wonderful animals on this earth. And they will live in our hearts for-ever. Take care my friend. 🙂

  9. sorry to hear about your dog 😦 She sounds very similar to my dog. we never have to tie her up because she always know the land my family owns and she’s always been a great at protecting us and the other animals (i live on a farm). She’s getting old now and hasn’t been acting right this winter so i’m hoping we won’t have to put her down anytime soon 😦

  10. So sorry to hear about Kaseys passing Josiah. My kids and I have decided that we believe we’ll see our animals in heaven someday…at least we’re hoping 🙂 I can’t imagine losing the ones we have now (2 pugs, 2 goldens and 2 cats) but I know the time will come. I’m glad yo had family around and you were able to tell her good-bye and lay her to rest somewhere special.
    God Bless~

  11. Amazing story Josiah! It’s wonderful to read you found such an amazing friend in Kasey. I feel so sorry for you, and I hope you will get over it some day. God bless:)

  12. omg josiah i am so sorry about your loss… i am sure it must be devistating to lose something/someone close to you. but think of it this way- kasey is in a WAY better place now. and i am sure that kasey is enjoying it in heaven. and kasey will always be with you. so stay positive and know that we are all praying for you and your family


Leave a Reply

