Skip navigation

It was certainly a weekend of highs and lows for me. Britt, Mila and myself traveled from Nashville to Atlanta to spend the evening with Britt’s parents then finished the journey on to Charlotte the next day. My sister Casandra is in town for the weekend. She’s in the Navy and has been stationed over in Japan for over a year now so it’s been a long time since I’ve seen her. My brother, his wife and my adorable little nephew Talan joined us as well as a friend from high school. We spent Saturday night eating dinner (actually eating the entries for the Mac & Cheese Off 2011 Challenge…which my lady took gold!) and played Cranium. It was a blast! (all highs so far) Then today, after church, we all went out to eat and I wasn’t paying attention and got in a fender bender outside of the restaurant. Luckily no one was hurt (the cars were barely scratched) and the guy agreed to just call me with a repair quote instead of going through my insurance. But it totally sucks. Money’s tight enough as it is without me ramming into peoples cars and paying for their repairs!
Later this evening I was paroozing Ollie’s Bargan Warehouse (if you’re unfamiliar think Marshall’s meets a flee market) and found an amazing, very modern looking coffee table! It was definitely out of place there but I was in the market for one and it was the right price. I was so excited to get the last one they had off the shelf, in my car and home. When I got home I unpacked my find to discover it was damaged. I had to take it back for a refund. The hunt continues.

Well enough of my woes- Here’s a verse I heard in church a couple of weeks ago and wanted to share with you guys.
It comes from 1 John 4:20-21 (Message Translation)
“If anyone boasts, “I love God,” and goes right on hating his brother or sister, thinking nothing of it, he is a liar. If he won’t love the person he can see, how can he love the God he can’t see? The command we have from Christ is blunt: Loving God includes loving people. You’ve got to love both.”

Everyone’s heard the term actions speak louder than words– well here’s a perfect example. One of the greatest ways to show love to God is by honoring what Jesus called us to do–Love one another. By loving one another we love God. By showing one another the compassion Jesus shared; by being Christ-like in all we do we’re able to love and honor God. I love how the verse says that if you can’t love the people around you- the people you interact with, communicate with, become friends with– the people you see every day, then how can you love a God that you can’t physically see? Loving God takes faith. Loving each other should be the easy part!
So get out there and love on someone this week! Buy someone’s lunch, carry someone’s books, be a friend to someone who doesn’t have many, love God by showing that love to each other!

ooooohhhh- I almost forgot. We’ve been chatting about some new upcoming Philmont merch. One of these items will be a custom Philmont skateboard deck! It’s a colab project between Philmont and our friends over at Wisdom Skateboards. I’m sooooooo excited for this. Should be available late April/early May. They’re only gonna be $40. You can purchase at a show or online and (for you skaters) they’ll come in a 7.75 and an 8.0.
They’re gonna look like this:

Have a great week!
Photobucket

One Comment

  1. I love the skateboard idea, that’s awesome! I’d totally buy one! đŸ™‚
    I’m sorry about all the roughness, the car, the coffee table and whatnot. Ahhh… it’s trying, definitely. Praying for y’all.
    Miss y’all.


Leave a Reply

