Skip navigation

Hey Guys,
I’m sorry for not posting last week. I was puking my guts out in TX so I pretty much slept the entire weekend.
anyways, I got a verse I wanted to share with ya’ll!

James 1:26-27 (the message)

“Anyone who sets himself up as “religious” by talking a good game is self-deceived. This kind of religion is hot air and only hot air. Real religion, the kind that passes muster before God the Father, is this: Reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard against corruption from the godless world.”

Do we talk a big talk but sit around and do nothing? Or are we taking action?

My fiance’ has been in Guatemala the past 7 days. During her time there she’s been helping with abused women and children and I know she been experiencing some amazing things down there. I really look up to Britt for going on this trip. She felt a strong calling to go down there. With only a week to set it up, she was able to get all of the funds completely donated and was able to make it happen. She remained faithful and God came through. I know that her going on her trip was a huge blessing and I know that she was able to bless so many lives. She’s been saying she’s wanted to go do mission work for so long and finally made it happen. I’m so thankful for her faithfulness. Its showed be how amazing God is and how he totally will come through if we remain faithful. I know that I always talk a big game and say “oh, I’d love to go do mission work or help with this and that” but I never take the action or even try to make it happen. Anybody else with me on that? I hope that we can all try to be better about walking the walk and talking the talk!

until next week…
cheers!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

One Comment

  1. I love and dislike The Message translation of these verses. James 1:27 is one of my favorite verses, because it actually has meaning to me. My family has adopted (And in the process of adopting again!) and fostered… In the KJV (No, I am not strictly a KJV person.. I prefer NASB) it specifically says “the fatherless (orphans) and widows”.
    I do love the fact that The Message translates it into helping the poor in general a lot though.

    I may be going to Guatemala this summer. I’m so excited! 🙂 Britt has been in my prayers as she is down there. Did you know that Guatemala actually has the worst malnutrition problems in the world? I just found that out last month.

    I’m glad you are feeling better!


Leave a Reply

