Skip navigation

Hello everyone!

I’m so excited to be hitting the road again soon! Tomorrow night at 7 we will be playing at Franks House in Huntersville, NC to kick off our run with our pals in Children 18:3 out to Rage fest in Phoenix, AZ! Come hang out with us!

I wanted to take a sec and share something with you fine folks. A few days into the reading event that I’m (and some of you) are doing daily, we skipped ahead to Job’s story. I love this story and there’s a lot that can be taken from it.

Job was a wealthy man, he had everything. He had a big family, thousands of animals, and a huge staff of servants. He was “the most influential man in all the East!” He was also a Godly man. His children threw parties often and the following mornings Job would sacrifice a burnt offering to God for each of his children, just in case one of them had sinned. Job knew that God was the reason for his success and was grateful. It’s a lot of scripture for just this blog, so I’ll just give you the main details, but I encourage you all to go read this story.

Job – 1:7-12 God said to Satan, “Have you noticed my friend Job? There’s no one quite like him – honest and true to his word, totally devoted to God and hating evil.” Satan retorted, “So do you think Job does all of that out of the sheer goodness of his heart? Why, no one ever had it so good! You pamper him like a pet, make sure nothing bad ever happens to him or his family or his possessions, bless everything he does – he can’t lose! But what do you think would happen if you reached down and took away everything that was his? He’d curse you right to your face, that’s what.” God replied, “We’ll see. Go ahead – do what you want with all that is his. Just don’t hurt him.” Then Satan left the presence of God.

Test 1: Family and Fortune.
Satan killed all of Job’s thousands of animals and even sent a tornado to the house where his children were having a party and killed them all. Job 1:20 says, “Job got to his feet, ripped his robe, shaved his head, then fell to the ground and worshiped: Naked I came from my mother’s womb, naked I’ll return to the womb of the earth. God gives, God takes. God’s name ever be blessed. Not once through all this did Job sin; not once did he blame God.”
Test 2: Health
This time Satan struck Job with terrible sores. Job 2:7 “Job was ulcers and scabs from head to foot. They itched and oozed so badly that he took a piece of broken pottery to scrape himself, then went and sat on a trash heap, among the ashes. His wife said, ‘Still holding on to your precious integrity, are you? Curse God and be done with it!’ He told her, ‘You’re talking like an empty-headed fool. We take the good days from God – why not also the bad days?’ Not once through all of this did Job sin. He said nothing against God.

Once a powerful man, became the laughingstock of the whole town. A man that used to be greatly respected and loved by everyone was now mocked everywhere he turned. Three of his friends came by to see him and they got into a lengthy argument. Job was convinced he had done nothing wrong, his friends were convinced he was lying and that God would not punish him for no reason. Job begged and pleaded with God wanting a fair trial. Wanting to be judged, not by the people on Earth, but wanted his case handled by God. When Job’s friends heard this, they were appalled. In Job 33:12 his friend Elihu says, “But let me tell you, Job, you’re wrong, dead wrong! God is far greater than any human. So how dare you haul him into court, then complain that He won’t answer your charges?”

When Elihu finished his long speech to Job, God answered Job from the eye of a violent storm.
Job 38:2-8 “Why do you confuse the issue? Why do you talk without knowing what you’re talking about? Pull yourself together, Job! Up on your feet! Stand Tall! I have some questions for you and I want straight answers. Where were you when I created the earth? Tell me, since you know so much! Who decided on its size? Certainly you’ll know that! Who came up with the blueprints and measurements? How was its foundation poured, and who set the cornerstone, while the morning stars sang in chorus and all the angels shouted praise?” God continues, making Job feel smaller and smaller, putting a little perspective in his eyes.

Job 40:1-5 “God then confronted Job directly: ‘Now what do you have to say for yourself? Are you going to haul me, the Mighty One into court and press charges?’ Job answered: ‘I’m speechless in awe – words fail me. I should have never opened my mouth! I’ve talked too much. I’m ready to shut up and listen.'” Then God continued explaining to Job how mighty and incredible He is. Job finally understood and had a much clearer view of who he was serving.

Afterwards, God restored Job’s fortune to even more than what he had before. He also had 7 sons and 3 daughters. Job 42:16 “Job lived on another 140 years, living to see his children and grandchildren – four generations of them! Then he died – an old man, a full life.”

I know that was long, but it’s one of my favorite stories and I wanted to share it with you guys. Please, if you’ve never read it before, go read it! I promise, this blog doesn’t do it much justice.
Photobucket

2 Comments

  1. A very good story! Thank you for putting this up! This story was very moving and I love this story now. ^_^ Thank you Josh for putting this blog up and God Bless! 🙂

  2. Awesome =)
    I’m doing the Dutch version of it(Starting today, so i’ve to double a few days,),, and then the new to old testament,,
    I tried to read the entire Bible before,, but I got stuck in Psalms…
    So now I decided to start in the new Testament, Because I want to know Jesus better,, who is that person I talk to almost everyday, what has He done, And what are His promises for me..
    Let’s pray, that everyone who started this, not just finish it (that is awesome too) but even more that they understand, believe and live what they read… Good luck with it =)


Leave a Reply

