Skip navigation

Howdy howdy howdy. I come to you today from my couch in Lake Park, North Carolina – a quaint little town sequestered within the larger Charlotte suburb of Indian Trail. A couple miles from Monroe, a couple miles from Matthews, twenty-five minutes from downtown Charlotte. I don’t know why I painted that picture for you, but now you have it! Merry Christmas.

Sometimes I feel like as Christians, though we are already saved, we try to earn our salvation – not in a direct sense, but let me show you what I mean. A lot of times, I catch myself subconsciously thinking something like: “Man, I really should be praying more often – I owe that to God” which doesn’t sound that unreasonable, right? I mean, God has done so much more for me than I could ever do for Him, and the fact that I am not going to die because of my sin is the greatest injustice in history. And all He asks of me is to shine my light and grow closer to Him each day, and so often I can’t even get that right? Seems like a hefty debt I have accrued for myself. I better focus on paying that down with my actions and devotion, right?

Wrong. God does not want us to view our relationship with Him as an obligation – no matter how humble or penitent such a mindset might be. God created us and sent His son for us, out of love. He forgives us and disciplines us, out of love. He has given us the capacity to love Him just as He has loved us – He wants to see us relate to Him out of this reciprocated love, not out of a sense of burden or depravity. Yes, it is beautifully unfair that Christ died so that we may live, but that doesn’t mean you should live out your faith as part of a repayment plan. Our worship should blossom from our desire for God’s heart, and our passion to grow closer to it. Read your Bible, go to church, and pray because you love God and you are thankful for His gift. If you find yourself fulfilling your “Christian rituals” out of obligation, cut it out! Grow your relationship with your Heavenly Father on a foundation of humble, joyful love.

Christmas is but 10 days away! Hail the incarnate deity! Jesus our Emmanuel – born that man no more may die! Powerful stuff, eh? Have a great week, and if you are shopping online make sure your gift will be shipped on time!!

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes:
1. “Do You Hear What I Hear?” by Copeland

2. “Spanish Air” by Slowdive

3. “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin'” by Michael Jackson

Photobucket

4 Comments

  1. Dude! This is amazing and so true! It’s so cool to see why you boys sing what you sing! This is very pure, honest, and righteous. Thanks for pouring out your heart! It’s a beautiful thing! P.S. I am super pumped for Christmas! The joy of celebrating Jesus’s birth! 😀 thanks for the post!

  2. Ziah, I’ve never been more proud of you than this very moment! YOU GET IT! My work is done.

    (accept for cranberry orange bread and future grandmothering)

  3. Nice! I’m a good friend of your mom’s. She’s AWESOME! John

  4. Josiah, you are a Wise Man.
    Merry CHRISTmas.


Leave a Reply

