Skip navigation

I hope everyone had a fantastic Thanksgiving. I heard somewhere that the average American eats 3X as many calories on Thanksgiving than on a normal day (USA! USA! USA!…sigh) I also heard that people gain an average of 10lbs between Thanksgiving and New Years- WOW. So enjoy your gluttonous holiday season! I have never had much of a craving for the traditional Thanksgiving spread—Turkey just doesn’t do it for me. This year (in following suit with the past three) I enjoyed a Thanksgiving bounty in the comfort of Cracker Barrel, a tradition I’m growing to love. We were sat next to the Angel Tree (a Christmas tree with tags hanging on it– each tag has the name of a less fortunate boy or girl from the area and their Christmas wish list). I had never partaken in sponsoring and Angel Tree child before but I couldn’t focus on my table full of food knowing that all those little tags were peering over my shoulder! Me and Britt read a few and landed on Elias, a 5-year-old boy. I didn’t know much about the little dude except that he wanted a skateboard, some cars, clothes and balls for Christmas and that he needed my help to make it happen. Later that night (before the black Friday madness) Britt and I went shopping for him. It was a ton of fun picking stuff out and imagining little Elias opening it on Christmas morning- I wish I could be there!
It was a super rewarding experience and I highly recommend it to anyone out there who has a couple extra bones to spare around the holiday. You could even get a couple friends or your youth group to join forces to give one child a special Christmas!
I think Isaiah 58:10 is a great verse to keep on your hearts during the holiday season. While it’s a joyous time of the year for most, it’s a hard time of the year for so many others.
“and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisfy the needs of the oppressed, then your light will rise in the darkness, and your night will become like the noonday.”
Last installment of the “behind the song” videos this week!
This one comes from the closing song on the EP “The Last Song I Sing”. Share it with a loved one!
See ya next week.

Photobucket

2 Comments

  1. That’s great about Elias, Scott! I’ve wanted to do that for a long time… love the meaning of the song. I was just thinking about that the other day. 🙂

  2. awehh thats awesome, what you did for Elias 😀
    my daddyyyy spoke on a comercial for the Angel Trees last year!


Leave a Reply

