Skip navigation

Hey everyone,
Staying with some friends in Phoenix the past few days. These friends have opened up there home to us, allowed us to do laundry, sleep in there house, and even fed us. I’m so thankful for people like them! Their hospitality made me think of a verse and I’d like to share it with you guys!

Philippians 2:1-4
“If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.”

Basically, we are called to not put ourselves first but to help out those in need. Its something we all know about and I’m sure have been taught since we were very young, but how often do we actually put others in front of our ourselves? I love how the Message translation phrases the last verse:

“Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.”

How awesome would it be to live out that last little bit all the time, forget ourselves, and help others? Seeing how this family has helped out everyone in Philmont has really made me stop and realize that I need to quit being so selfish. How many times in a day do I put MYSELF before others?? Too many to count! Its something I’ve realized I need to be better at. I would encourage anyone who reads this to stop and ask yourself the same question, when was the last time you forgot YOU for a second and helped someone else? It seems so simple, but I think that its something that most of us struggle with the most!

Lets quit worrying so much about ourselves and lets get better at lovin’ on others! Lets not do things for our own gain, but to help out those who need it!! QUIT BEIN’ SO DANG SELFISH!! 🙂

until next week…
Photobucket
AKA
JRMZ!

3 Comments

  1. that got my heart yo! for real we all do need to stop bein selfish! im selfish alot and now imma really try to stop it! thanx dude!!

  2. Good point. The Message translation is something I do not support, but I love the main idea of this post. Thanks JRMZ 🙂 GBU

  3. Seriously, I’m going to let my sister read this. I mostly put myself aside, a bit too much actually, but she’s so selfish at home that even my parents don’t know what to do anymore. But maybe her eyes will open by reading this. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

