Skip navigation

Stay tuned for a special video at the end of this blog…

Folks, check it. The first two commandments are, as I’m sure you know – 1) Have no other gods before your God, and 2) Don’t make any idols. These are very similar, though the 2nd was given in the context of physical idol worship. Nevertheless, they are both very relevant today, perhaps moreso than ever.

We create gods and idols all the time. The funny thing is, we often take things that God wants us to have, and make them more important than God himself – whether it be money, friends, a job, entertainment, a significant other, etc… Be honest with yourself and ask, “have I been living more for my [friends/money/job] than I have for God?” I think we have all been guilty of this at one time or another – I know I have sometimes put music above God in my mind (ironic, since I’m supposed to be using my music for His glory…) The funny thing is, not only does God want us all to have and enjoy these things, but He promises them to us if we put Him above all else! Jesus said in Matthew 6:33 (paraphrase), “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and ALL THESE THINGS will be given to you as well”. If that doesn’t spell it out I don’t know what does.

I found a verse in Habakkuk (obscure, right?) that discusses idols; I love the imagery and straightforwardness of it:
Habakkuk 2:18-20 (NAS)
“What profit is the idol when its maker has carved it,
Or an image, a teacher of falsehood?
For its maker trusts in his own handiwork
When he fashions speechless idols.
Woe to him who says to a piece of wood ‘Awake!’
To a dumb stone ‘Arise!’
Behold, it is overlaid with gold and silver,
And there is not breath at all inside it.”

I would encourage you to think about what you may be putting above God in your life, and how that’s going for you. If you’re worried about letting something go, don’t be! If you are meant to have that thing, seek Him first, and it will be given to you.

Now then, the moment you’ve all been waiting for. Without further adieu, watch as I draw the raffle winner and administer some wisdom on how to treat your guitar:

Have a great week!

Photobucket

4 Comments

  1. Good devotion, Josiah, I was just thinking the other day how we take the smallest of things and put them above God. You’re right… SEEK FIRST the kingdom of God.
    WOOHOO for your new guitar, and congrats to Steve (he’s a Texan… must mean something… justkidding!). That’s a FLIPPIN SWEET new PRS!!!!

    • Brittany-in-CA
    • Posted September 30, 2010 at 10:18 PM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    AMAZING devo, Josiah….! 🙂 funny video, too 🙂 GBU

  2. Great devotion, simple & to the point! Amazing packing job as well, the staples were a nice touch! Looking forward to the new EP!

  3. I really appreciate it when you guys post devotionals/Biblical challenges for us. This topic always gets me. I KNOW that there are idols in my life, and I know that sometimes I hate letting go of that. *sigh* Good grief…sooo, thanks for this challenge, Josiah!


Leave a Reply

