Skip navigation

I’m in Nashville now and have been for a couple days. This trip is out of the ordinary for me because I’m traveling alone this time…it feels strange! There are a few reasons for my trip. First and foremost I needed to track vocals for the song “Closer” for the new EP. It was the last song I had left to record and I’m glad to be finished and one step “closer” to putting new music in your ears!
Since I like to get a lot of bang for my buck I also booked a couple meetings and writing sessions for while I’m here. Over the last couple of days I’ve had a lot of sit-down chats with people here who are very involved with Philmont behind the scenes. I guess you would call them our “team”. I feel so blessed to be surrounded by such talented people who truly believe in our music and our ministry and who work so hard to help us advance as a band.
It gave me the idea to pose this question to you blog readers this week:
How does the company you keep effect you?
Proverbs 13:20 says “The one who walks with the wise will become wise…” It’s important for us as believers to surround ourselves with people who encourage us in life and in our faith. I’m not saying dump all your non-christian friends! By all means, so much of Jesus’ life was spent in the company of sinners and thieves. You should, however, pay close attention to who you are influencing and who is influencing you.
1 Corinthians 15:33 warns us: “Do not be deceived: ‘Bad company corrupts good morals.”
Looking back on my life I can see a distinct difference in the way I felt and acted and the strength of my faith depending on what kind of people I was spending my time with. When surrounded by believers, you’re all aimed at a common goal- living Christ-like. If you’re one to separate your “church friends” from you “school friends” be careful that you’re not becoming two different people. Maybe you could bring some of those “school friends” to church with you sometime.

Anyways, it’s late and I feel like I may have just rambled for the last 20 minutes or so. I hope you’re able to pull some goodness from this blog.
Thanks for reading every week!
Until next time…
Photobucket

One Comment

  1. good point, Scott! Praying for you guys 🙂 GBU


Leave a Reply

