Skip navigation

Hey everyone,
Hope you guys are doing fantastic! I wanted to share a verse with you guys that I shared with the Philmont crew the other day. This verse is pretty brutal and straight to the point!

AMOS 5:21-24
“I can’t stand your religious meetings.
I’m fed up with your conferences and conventions.
I want nothing to do with your religion projects,
your pretentious slogans and goals.
I’m sick of your fund-raising schemes,
your public relations and image making.
I’ve had all I can take of your noisy ego-music.
When was the last time you sang to me?
Do you know what I want?
I want justice—oceans of it.
I want fairness—rivers of it.
That’s what I want. That’s all I want.”

This is probably my favorite MESSAGE translation in the bible. Its so straight-forward and relevant! I really feel like its so easy for us as christians to put a tag on most things we do as a church and say its “all for God”. We do it so much though, that it just becomes something we do out of habit! BUT, are we really glorifying God in all we do? I love when it says:

I’ve had all I can take of your noisy ego-music.
When was the last time you sang to
ME?”

When WAS the last time we sang to HIM? I personally always say when I’m going on stage and playing the drums, that its all for our Lord. Let all the glory be for God and not me…but do I just say that because its what I always have to say, and what I’ve always said, or is it something I truly mean in my heart? When I’m up on stage, am I worried about myself or am I giving God all the praise? I really think that this verse can be used as a constant reminder that all of these conferences, concerts, meetings, music, and whatever else are meaningless if we are not focusing God and doing his will! Like I said, its easy to “say” that what we are doing is the Lords will, but are we really?

I encourage you guys, as well as myself, lets not let what we say and do in our Christian walks be something that is done out of habit and because it will make us look good. Lets do it because we truly want to glorify the Lord!

Cheers!
Photobucket
aka: JRMZ

10 Comments

  1. Wow. I really needed to hear that. Thanks!

  2. Wow its been a while since ive commented on here …but anyway , that was so great, it was really on point and so true , thanks so much for sharing that , im going to share this verse with my friends and family =) L8r

  3. That’s most definitely something every so-called Christian needs to think about. Thanks for sharing. ^_^

  4. Thanks Jeremi. That’s an excellent verse. This is one of the many reasons I choose to only support Christian music-and even then, it can’t be secular-style music with a “Christian” label…it really has to be from the heart of the believer to the Lord. Which is why I support Philmont 😉 GBU

  5. thanks Jeremi, i needed to hear that. 🙂

  6. Hey Jeremi, there’s a song by jon foreman “Instead of a Show” that is taken from these verses. It’s one of my favs.
    Thank you for sharing what’s on your heart.
    See you in Garland!!
    Shine on!!
    big hugs and high 5’s!
    your friend,
    ~miss kimmy

  7. AMOS is the man! His words are SO VERY relevant for today; especially for the American church. WOW! Or should I say, “OW!” Thanks Jrmz!

  8. WOW! Truly the way to live, unto the LORD with full abandon, not unto the Christian eyes that watch, to look proper, to look respectful, but fully unto Him. GREAT, GREAT, Thanks for sharing

  9. Yo, this is powerful!! I’m a worship leader and an activist for the Lord!! Jeremi, you rock!!

  10. Excellent post! God’s Word is TRUE and if we don’t take heed there will be consequences. Thanks Jrmz!


Leave a Reply

