Skip navigation

Hello friends! Let me just go ahead and get this out of the way – if anyone has any interest in buying my Marshall JCM 2000 amp head, please let me know! I will give you a great deal.

Anyway, the past few nights I was able to go out to Camp Quest, which is the church camp I went to for many of my teenage years. It is also where I met my girlfriend of 5 years, so that is pretty cool! Every year since I surpassed “camper” status, I have always been fortunate enough to return for at least a couple days and help out leading worship, which I love doing whenever I can.

Something that was talked about during the message last night was gifts and talents. Everyone is gifted in some way; whether you realize it or not, God has given each of you passions, and skills relating to those passions. You may not have discovered these gifts yet, but I can assure you they are in there. God creates each person for a purpose, so of course He equips us with the tools we need to accomplish those purposes. We are given these gifts so that we can use them for the glory of God; He is, after all, the one who gave them to us to begin with, and it brings Him great delight to see us doing what we were created for.

Jesus once told a parable about a rich man who had to leave the country for an extended period of time, so he split up a portion of his fortune between 3 of his servants, and instructed them that while he was gone, each servant was to take his “allowance”, and turn it into more money by means of investing, trading, etc… Once the master left, 2 of the servants went out and, using good business techniques, doubled their original sums. The 3rd servant, however, was worried that he might not be able to make good on his instructions, so he buried the money in a hole in the ground. When the master returned, he was furious with the 3rd servant, for not having the courage to use what had been given to him.

The meaning of this story has nothing to do with money. In fact, it is about gifts and talents. The point is: God wants us to pursue the passions He has put in our hearts. He does not want to see us let fear get in the way of chasing our dreams and using our gifts, even if it means getting out of our comfort zones.

Use what God has given you! It could be something creative, like music or art. It could be a certain characteristic – maybe you are very compassionate or a good listener. Maybe you are a great public speaker. Maybe your gift is in your physical strength or athleticism. Maybe you are intellectually gifted. If you go out and pursue your talent for God’s glory, you will find great favor in His eyes.

Have a great week! We are at Ichthus Festival, and it is the bomb!

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “Wilderness” by OC Supertones

2. “Little Black Heart” by the Early November

3. “99 Red Balloons” by Goldfinger

Photobucket

6 Comments

  1. How interesting that you post about this, Josiah!
    Something I’ve had fun with the past couple of days is figuring out my MBTI (Myers-Briggs Test Indicator) letters, I’m an INFP. Reading the description…it does fit me. I’m generally a reserved person, not apt to be talk the most (though I do like to write) or necessarily be the most friendly.
    But I do have a deep compassion for others and a desire to help/nourish/care for people. I think that is one gift that God has given me and I’ve been amazed over the years how He has used that in me.
    I know I don’t use all the gifts/talents He’s given me, sometimes because I’m too scared or nervous or occasionally even embarrassed. Thank you greatly for pointing out that we are uniquely created, with a special purpose, and to let our uniqueness be our strength/joy/passion. It’s an encouragement to me!
    Have a fantastic week!

  2. Wow. That is REALLY ironic. I haven’t been really wanting to play and practice my piano, and my mom told me that I shouldn’t ignore and neglect the talent God gave me. *sigh* She is ALWAYS right! Thanks so much, I needed that. :] Have an awesome week!

  3. It seems like I’m on the same boat as Sara and Kelsey.
    I’m still trying to figure out how God wants me to use my gifts/passions.

    Speaking of camp, I’m going as a ‘junior’ worker later this month to a camp my church takes the middleschoolers to. I’m really looking forward to it!

    Thank you so much for the awesome encouragement this week!

  4. Josiah!!…Loved the Blog,Thank u! 😀 later

  5. ok so i know i already left a comment but i saw this pic and thought u would like it =D http://media.photobucket.com/image/colorful%20background/earthchildeternia/Google-TheBeatles4.png?o=9

  6. wow…thanks so much for posting this…I really needed it! Ive been trying to decide where to go to school…and I have a passion for music, but Im a little nervous about going to school for that(what if Im not good enough, etc…). That helped me, a little, with feeling like going out of my comfort zone might be a good thing to do! :] so thanks, Josiah! :]


Leave a Reply

