Skip navigation

Hello friends!
The Philmont gang has returned from a nice trip from the sounthern part of our country. Had a great time skateboarding and hanging out with Britt’s fam in Atlanta,Ga. Also, had an amazing time with our good brother from another mother, Omar Gibson in Alabama. Now were taking a week to prepare a song to record with our good friend Matt Arcani in Nashville sometime nextweek!

I found an eye opening devotional that made me think of how in this short “time-span”/ life-span were preparing for eternity.

There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the
things we can’t see now will last forever.” 2 Corinthians 4:18

Isn’t it interesting how we look at things each day? It seems from my contact with most people I meet and talk with everyday, that little thought is ever given to the events that happen in our lives on a daily basis, beyond what we see. Do you ever consider how what you do today might impact you in the future? For that matter, do we really have any control over that? The verse above gives us a bit of insight into that question.

God’s perspective is much broader than our own; since He is up there in heaven, and we are down here on earth, it is quite different. A friend of mine likes to call God’s viewpoint, ‘the helicopter view’, which is actually a pretty good description of how he sees things. We only see on the horizontal, while God sees three dimensionally. This is why the verse says “there’s far more here than meets the eye.” As God knows, everything we see or happens to us today passes on and will never be exactly the same again.

This is particularly true when we consider the prophecy of the end of the world as we know it, and that it will come. Everything we now see will go away, and the new heaven and earth will come and take its place. These are the things that we can’t see now and that will last for eternity. So, what Paul is trying to get across to us in this verse is that we should not be spending a lot of energy on what is here now, because in the big scheme of things, as God knows, it doesn’t have much meaning for us.

That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t love others and spend time with our family and friends, or that nothing we do is consequential. What it does mean is that we ought to spend our time doing things here on earth from a heavenly perspective, so that it will have an eternal impact! It reminds me of the verse 1 Corinthians 10:31, which says: “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” Let’s try to remember that we live for God’s glory, and when we truly do that, eternity will be surely be impacted- not only for ourselves, but for all those we touch during our lives. Author Unknown

Have a great week!
Photobucket

10 Comments

  1. Well said Justin! It’s still really hard for me to comprehend the end of the world, even though I have put my entire faith and life in Christ. And sometimes I doubt whether I will see you and everyone else in Heaven… thanks for this reminder… this helped me re-establish (as I have many times) my strong faith in Jesus Christ. He is the ONLY way to heaven so I need never doubt! 🙂 Thanks again… this was great.

  2. It’s crazy how much this topic has come up lately. My pastor used an illustration with tape. He made two lines on the tape, about two inches apart. Then he made the tiniest dot in between those lines. The lines represented how long man had occupied Earth, and the dot is us, now. He asked the question, “Do we want to live for this dot? Or for eternity?” (there was about 12 feet of tape out, with the lines in the middle of it)

    I hope that made sense o.o Anyway, thanks for the reminder!

  3. So I’ve been reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan… And there’s a quote in it that says something a long the lines of …
    The people who make the most difference/impact in this life are those who have the next life in mind..

    Thought I’d share. 🙂

  4. Well done Justin!

  5. I get cross-eyed whenever I try to think of eternity. 🙂 Seriously, it’s like my brain folds in half, it’s just insanely hard to think of it.
    Actually, thinking about this word reminds me of something that happened to me once. When I lived overseas, we were outside of the city, so we could see the stars pretty well (even saw bits of the Milky Way on especially clear nights). But, one night, I woke up (it must have been about 3am) and for no discernible reason, I went outside. I got to the driveway (heading for the trampoline) and then chanced to look up. I very nearly lost my breath, the sky was INCREDIBLY clear…I’d never seen, nor have I seen since, any night-sky so clear as that one was. I felt like I could stretch out my arms and touch the nearest stars. The closest I could compare it to, was that I felt like I was gazing into eternity. Seriously. I ended up laying on the trampoline until sunrise, just watching the heavens moving above me, marveling in the clear, bright, vast eternal night-sky, and worshiping my Heavenly Father.
    Amazing…

  6. wow what an impacting post , thanks so much Justin 😀

  7. That really puts things in perspective. And I’m going on a mission’s trip today that will last the rest of the week, so that was very much appreciated! Thank you so much for taking the time to share that with us…it really makes me want to give my all on this trip and for anything else whether it be here or anywhere else. :] Have a great week!

  8. Thats really great guys.

    Sara- I feel like I could put that experience to a song!

    Damaris- thats awesome! Zug Zug Zug.

    Kelsey – goodluck on your trip.

    Thanks so much friends you guys are wonderful we love your comments! ❤ Justin

  9. Justin, that would be pretty groovy! 🙂 But seriously, that night was pretty amazing…and not just celestially, it was a beautiful time of worship too.

  10. Thanks so much for this amazing post Justin! It really made an impact on me, and I also shared it with my friend(who’s name is also Justin! haha! funny, right?) and it really helped him out too! so thanks! :]


Leave a Reply

