Skip navigation

I fell in love with a word this week. That’s kind of an odd thing to say, I know, but hear me out. Being in a band that plays a lot of outreaches and church events I get to sit in on my fair share of speakers. During one such event the speaker was quoting a verse in Psalms when he said the word “Blameless” and since then, for some reason, it’s been stuck in my head. Later on I picked up my bible and some internet and did some sniffing around on this word. The word itself is used a hand full of times in the bible but I’m really attached to Philippians 2:14-15 which says, “Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the word.”

There’s a lot of stuff in that verse that I could focus on-
Doing things without grumbling- sure maybe sometimes I complain about long nights, long drives or bad weather when I should be focusing on how God’s allowing me to share His love through music.
I could focus on the aspect of questioning- why do I always feel the need to always know what’s going on? Why do I, so often, look at God’s plan for me as some sort of code that I must decipher so I can be sure I’m heading in the right direction.
Maybe I could have focused on the part about this crooked and twisted generation drowning in addiction, depression and apathy.
There’s so much goodness to this verse but for some reason my mind sticks on the word “blameless” every time I read through it.

I found a lot of articles comparing the word “blameless” to “sinless” and even more articles listing some of the characters in the bible that are referred to as “blameless”. But after some searching I landed on a fantastic study on the word.
The writer says that as believers we are “blameless or perfect or without blemish in God’s eyes. We use the term forgiven but it is much more than that. God views us not as forgiven but as perfect, justified, as if we had never sinned in the first place.”

It’s amazing to look at God’s love this way. Any of us can forgive someone for doing us wrong- depending on the offense it can be quite challenging at times but God’s version of forgiveness is so much more than our own. He can not only forgive us for our most awful sins but go one step further and forget about the entire thing- imagine that. If someone comes up and punches you in the face then apologizes for it later you may forgive them (if you’re super nice) but if later they come storming up to you, you’re going to duck and cover because you know what may be coming!
I feel like we cheapen God’s forgiveness by comparing it to our own watered down version of forgiveness. This leads us to asking God to forgive our problems but, deep down, feeling like they’re unforgivable. Just know that this is not the case. Instead, because of Jesus dying on the cross for those very sins, we are looked upon with love as blameless and innocent children of God. Nothing in your past is too big, too dark or too messed up that God can’t forgive and call you “Blameless”.

Chew on this word this week. I’m interested to know if it sticks to anyone else’s brain like it did to mine.

Photobucket

10 Comments

  1. That gave me goosebumps. I mean, I’ve heard that word so many times, and yet I never really thought about it…and I admire you for looking around and doing a study on the word. And it’s awesome that you shared it. So many times I find myself complaining and questioning…and I could be doing so many more things that glorify God. :] I appreciated this…it made me think and I liked reading it! Thanks and have a great weekend!

  2. AWESOME. Thanks Scott. That was inspired 🙂

  3. Awesome post, Scott! And I love that verse (and the word too, lol). 🙂

  4. thank you for posting this, it means alot

  5. Wow! That was awesome thanks so much for posting this 😀 see ya later bye =)

  6. Hm.. I like this. Word.

  7. Wow, Scott. I had never thought about that word much, now I am. I love, love, love this blog! Thank you for taking the time to research the word, I really admire that. The part of this that got me, was your comment on how we cheapen God’s forgiveness by comparing it to our own. So true!! I think that goes along the same lines as the way we compare our love with God’s love.
    Another verse that comes to mind (that uses ‘blameless’, and is a verse I love) is Ephesians 1:4-6 “For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight.” Wow…again, thanks, Scott, for this blog. Definitely giving me some thoughts to ponder…

  8. Wow! thats all I can say! Wow! haha! Thanks so much, Scott! I said it before how much I love it when you post blogs like this, but I’ll say it again! Its just so awesome! God is so awesome! :]

  9. thanks for posting this, Scott!

  10. Wow this is actually something i have been dealing with alot the past couple of weeks. thanks for the insight Scott!!


Leave a Reply

