Skip navigation

Hello to all!

As most of you know this is my first blog entry ever, so I thought I would introduce and tell you a little about myself (I haven’t done any sort of writing since high school, so please try to look past any spelling and grammatical errors in this post and the posts in the future). My name is Joshua Scott Guion and I play bass for Philmont. That’s my life on the road, when I’m at home, life is a little different.. I’m a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) and have been for a little over three years now. My job is to be there for people who need help or even just to sit with them and keep them company. I enjoy working with the elderly the most, you wouldn’t believe some of the stories I’ve heard, and the things these people have seen.

My job comsumes most of my time while I’m at home, other than that I just try to find things (which usually end up being video games or catching up on my tv shows) to pass the time until we hit the road again! But the past few days we’ve been staying pretty busy, we’ve been writing some new jams and working on some new cover songs too, and the best part about it is that each night brittany has been preparing us delicious meals, including dessert!

Also, as Scott mentioned, yesterday we had Philmont’s first 5-piece photoshoot ever. It went smoothly and we all had a lot of fun while we were there. Our photographer, and good friend, Daniel really knows what he’s doing and is probably the funniest guy that I know. Not much else going on this week.. until Thursday! I’m flying out to Ohio to visit my girlfriend and her family for the weekend, and unfortunatly that means I will be missing the shows we have booked, but our friend Matt has agreed to fill in for me and you won’t even know I’m gone. Well, that about wraps it up for me, be sure to follow us on twitter: twitter.com/philmontrock and I will see you guys again next Tuesday!

13 Comments

  1. Hey Josh! Welcome to the blogging world 🙂
    I saw you play with Philmont at Lifefest last year, and I’ve been wondering when you would be come an official memeber ever since!

    I can’t wait to hear the music and see the photos.
    Have a great, safe travel!

    -Arielle

  2. Hi Josh!

    Great first blog! I love sitting in with elderly people and listening to their stories!! Esp ones like during the Great Depression or the World Wars. Or hearing them tell their parents and grandparents stories! Life was so different but it keeps things in perspective.

    We’re all looking forward to the photoshoot! Have a fun time in Ohio!

    ~ Sara

  3. What’s up, Josh? :] I didn’t know about the CNA thing…pretty cool. Looking forward to seeing you dudes in concert 5/2…I will remember to pack mentos, just for you!! :]

  4. FINALLY, it’s official! Great to see you’re a legit Philmont member! Welcome to the family, ducky.

  5. Yay! Welcome to Philmont and the blogosphere, Josh!

  6. You know, I would say something along the lines of “It’s nice to meet you” but seeing as how I haven’t actually met you, I’m gonna say something more like…It’s nice to meet a digital representation of you…or your thoughts…or something like that”

    At any rate, I hope you enjoy being a part of the Philmont experience. From what little I’ve seen, it looks like truck-loads of fun.

    Remember, fire is very hot and it will burn you.

  7. I’m very proud of you, son, and look forward to reading many more blogs from you! It’s kinda like peeking in your diary! You are a blessing not only to those elderly who desperately need someone like you but to everyone you meet- but you were a blessing to me first. I love you. ❤

  8. Yeah! Really excited about this, Josh! You’re an awesome addition to the band, and you’ll do awesome! 😀

  9. It’s nice to have you here 🙂 I hope Philmont will come to Holland soon, so we Dutch people can meet the new bandmembers 🙂

    Enjoy!

  10. Sup Josh!?!?!? It’s cool that you are finally blogging… I’m totes excited for May 2nd!!!!! By the way Kelsey, bringing mentos is my thing!!!! hahaha Well, welcome to the gang Josh!!!!

  11. Awesome!! ur first Philmont Blog cant wait for the next one lol Welcome =D

  12. Welcome, Josh! CNA-that’s so awesome. Never grow weary in doing good. GBU 🙂

  13. Welcome Josh!! (: hhhaha it was really cool to meet all of you guys, I’m so glad that you’re a part of this band..this brotherhood–this family! I hope you have fun in Ohio, and I can’t wait to hear some of your jams and see you guys’ photo shoot! Safe traveling, and take care! (:


Leave a Reply

