Skip navigation

I am going to try as hard as I can to avoid talking excessively about the upcoming final season premiere of my favorite television show. All I will say is, I am very excited for Tuesday night. I don’t know how to explain it…one could say I am LOST for words…

Anyway, this week Philmont played our earliest show ever at my old high school. It was a 9am chapel service for Metrolina Christian Academy, where I attended all four years of high school. I got the opportunity to speak briefly to the 450 or so kids in attendance before we played our set. Being a fairly recent alumnus (5 years since graduating), it was cool to be up there speaking to students who are literally and figuratively in the same place I was in not long ago. I was thankful for the opportunity, and hopefully God used my words in some way or another to make an impression on somebody. [My bandmates later pointed out the irony in me speaking to students about college/the future when I in fact only completed three years of college before dropping out when Philmont got signed].

I was a little apprehensive about playing a show so early in the morning; I figured the energy level would be subpar on both ends of the rope (the band and the audience). But boy was I proven wrong! The students went nuts! Which, in turn, motivated us to give it our all and it ended up being an amazing experience. So thank you to MCA for having us, and we hope to be back soon!

February is going to be a pretty relaxed month for Philmont. Which is probably a good thing, since we are going to be devoting many hours to analyzing each week’s episode of LOST (dang it, sorry, I tried). Ummm Scott and I will be leaving for another Nashville trip this Sunday to have some writing sessions and record some demos. We’ve actually been relatively productive these past few months in getting material churned out; six or seven complete songs written/demo-ed thus far… Don’t get your hopes up though, I doubt we will start playing any of the new stuff live any time soon. The time will come…

What did you guys think about the State of the Union Address? I try to avoid making political comments on here, but let it be known I have a very hard time believing anything that man says.

On a totally unrelated note, I just finished the new Glenn Beck book “Arguing with Idiots” and it was fantastic! If anyone has any interest in learning basic current politics from a conservative standpoint, and enjoys a lot of humor thrown in, I would recommend this read.

Hope everyone has had a great first month of 2010! Mine has been pretty good. We in Charlotte might be getting some snow this weekend! So of course, everyone is freaking out and breaking out the tire chains and sleds. There will probably be enough snow for the entire city to collect and build the middle part of a snowman…

One thing I am NOT looking forward to is doing my taxes. I literally don’t understand how any of it works, my Mom has always done it for me. I guess this is the year I learn.

Alrighty folks, have a great weekend. I will see you later! Three songs.

Three Songs to Buy on iTunes This Week:
1. “Arch Drive Goodbye” by Eve 6

2. “Be Alive In Me” by Abandon

3. “Brick by Boring Brick” by Paramore

8 Comments

  1. w00h00 Glenn Beck. he’s awesome.

  2. I am not caught up on Lost yet :/ im still in season 2!!!!
    in other news, Texas and NC got snow on the same weekend! Crazy!!

  3. agreed, Brittany.

    Kels, what the heck. You were on season 2 last time i saw you. Disgraceful!

    Josiah

  4. Glenn Beck is amazing! I haven’t gotten around to reading his books yet but I love watching his show every night.

    As for the address, lies, lies, and more lies in my oppinion. I couldn’t personally watch it since I went to see a movie and I can’t stand to listen to him.

    My area is also getting snow!

  5. ha in my defense, at least im on a different episode than i was last time you saw me! Maybe i’ll skip a few days of school & just watch LOST all day. :]

  6. FYI today i had a LOST-a-thon in my room and watched episodes 7-16 of season five (about eight straight hours) to get myself psyched for the big day. and i’ve never been happier.

    Josiah

  7. ooo so productive!…i watched 8-14 of season 2 Sunday afternoon…

  8. I love Lost and I hate seeing good shows end. It’s happened far too often.

    On a side note, I’m bummed one of my favorite bands is so pro-Glenn Beck! I hate that guy. Research the other side and you’ll find out he’s just a crackpot conspiracy freak. FYI, Obama is trying to fix an economy that went under 14 mos. before he took office. That’s Bush’s fault.

    Anyway…love the band and promote it as much as I can, even though we disagree on politics lol.


Leave a Reply

