Skip navigation

For as long as I’ve lived I’ve never actually celebrated Christmas with my family on December 25th. When I was little we would celebrate the weekend before then drive up to Michigan and spend Christmas with my extended family. Now that I’m older and my brother and I are married, we still celebrate early so we can split Christmas between our parents and our wives parents—- all this to say that the Taube’s celebrated Christmas yesterday. (Hence the day-late blog)

I had an amazing Christmas. It’s nice to spend the day rockin some PJs (though I admit I do take that liberty occasionally throughout the year) and hanging out with the family. I woke up at about 7:45am…correction, Britt shook me awake saying (in a little kid voice) “It’s Christmas, it’s Christmas!” at 7:45am! We opened our gifts to each other in our room before heading downstairs and joining the family. Shopping for Britt was a lot of fun this year (as mentioned in a previous blog). We had a SUPER tiny budget so we both had to get creative. I bought her a YoBo game console, which is a machine that plays original NES and SNES cartridges! I hit up Ebay for the games and was able to find some for as low as $.99! Ah nostalgia! In return, she scratched #1 off my list and got me the new Apple Magic Mouse (AMAZING!) She got a little nostalgic with my stocking by buying me the CD “Homecoming” by an old Christian punk band Craigs Brother. (It’s okay that you don’t know who they are).
Photobucket

My mom has always been great about buying some goofy gift for the entire family. This year it was the Horsey Hoppers. They are these large inflatable rubber balls fit with handles just like the little kid versions except made to withstand the weight of rowdy adults. Each ball is fit with a Horsey costume and each rider gets his own hat! Within minutes we had a course plotted out encircling the entire downstairs!
Photobucket

I get to cap off Philmont’s year tonight with a Christmas show at Tremont. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve rounded up about a thousand Christmas lights to cover our amps with. After that it’s down to Atlanta to be with Britt’s family before heading up to MO to start our string of January shows.

Hope to see some of you tonight and even more of you this January.
Have a very Merry Christmas!
-Scott (@ScottyMcTaube)

3 Comments

  1. Glad you had a good time with your family. I’ll be at the show tonight. Lookin’ forward to it!

  2. Those inflatable ponies are probably just about the coolest things I’ve ever seen.

  3. I love those hats. Andi got your Christmas card today:D thanks guys!


Leave a Reply

