Skip navigation

Well I’m happy to say that for the first time in my entire life I’ve gotten a jump-start on the holidays! I’m usually that guy paying an extra $50 for express shipping cause I waited till December 20th to do my shopping. But not this year- this year I’m on top of things! The great thing about not having a bunch of money is that I’m not expected to spend a ton on gifts for my friends and family. The flop side of that is that I have to be creative with what money do have. Let’s face it, no one wants a handmade coupon book for free back rubs and car washes. I was super creative with Britt’s shopping this year and while I’d love to tell you guys what I got her, she does read this blog and that would totally ruin the surprise! So you (like her) will just have to wait!

We finally got to play a local(ish) show yesterday in High Point, NC. It’s only about an hour away from Charlotte and we played out there a bunch in earlier Philmont years. We saw a bunch of old friends and fans and had an absolute blast. We’re playing a very special Christmas show at Tremont Music Hall here in Charlotte on December 20th and I hope the queen city shows us as much love as High Point did.
The event from last night was to benefit the Triad Ladder of Hope. (www.triadladderofhope.org) It’s an organization that focuses on local human trafficking. That’s right- I said local! I was pretty blown away to find out that people are being bought and sold into slavery right here where I live. Many of them are immigrants and children being sold for labor and sex. We’re so used to associating human trafficking with Africa or India- not the US. The Triad Ladder of Hope focuses on raising awareness about local human trafficking as well as rescuing and rehabilitating victims. To find out more about this organization and how you can help, visit their website: http://www.triadladderofhope.org

That’s it for this week.
-Scott
Tweet me @ ScottyMcTaube

Leave a Reply

