Skip navigation

So after giving it much thought (not really, I pondered the idea for about 20 seconds before blindly acting on it) I decided that Philmont should send out Christmas cards to all of our loving and adoring fans…And, of course, by ALL I mean the first 100 to email me their home mailing addresses!
I posted this proposal on the band’s Twitter (@PhilmontRock…hint, hint) two days ago and was floored by the immediate response! My inbox remained full until I posted earlier today that we’d reached the 100 people limit. So why only the first 100? Well, you see, stuff is expensive! We have to make some fancy custom stationary (3-picture minimum!) AND buy envelopes and postage for all 100. Not to mention that a good 10-15 of those 100 kids live in other countries! Holland held it down with Canada and Russia in a tie for second place.
I’m working on securing some outside funding to support the “Philmont Want’s To Send You a Christmas Card” project so that we can reopen the flood gates and send a card out to everyone. Until then be glad (or sad) that you did (or didn’t) in fact get your address to me in time! Yey! (or boo!)

I’ve had a handful of requests of people wanting to send Philmont a little sump’n sump’n for the holidays. If you’re one of those people we can gather up packages and letters at this address:

Philmont
10717 Persimmon Creek Dr.
Charlotte, NC 28227

I know it can be hard to shop for people so I’ve created this short list of do’s and don’ts for the Philmont member on your list!

The Do’s include (but are not limited to):
Gift cards, nice notes, xbox 360 games and accessories, gift cards, a new tape player for our van, antenna toppers, any assortment of remote-controlled anythings, gift cards, homemade pop-up books, candy, coupons that may be fitting for road life, gift cards, autographed photos of other bands, anything that could hang from a rear-view mirror, cash or gift cards.

The don’ts include (but are not limited to):
Memberships to any sort of “Jelly of the Month” club, home-made coupon books offering things like car washes and foot rubs, Snuggies, live animals, dead animals, locks of your hair, hate mail, bowflexes, ransom notes, organs (the instrument kind or the human kind), IOUs, mail bombs.

hope this helps!
-Scott
(Tweet me @ ScottyMcTaube)

2 Comments

    • Erica Hildebrand
    • Posted November 15, 2009 at 3:36 PM
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Haha human organs…there goes my plan. I was sure a back up kidney was right up there on the list!! (and I had just saved up for the surgery..darn).

    Great sentiment – the cards going out. things like that are what set you guys (and girl) apart.

    And I can honestly say I am not one of those “shame on them blog post readers” you refered to on the facebook link, I have Sunday morning plugged into my blackberry – special alarm and everything.

  1. Haha, just read this. It made my day. 🙂 And put me in a Christmas mood. 😉


Leave a Reply

