Skip navigation

So I finally finished the book I’ve been reading- “The Jesus of Suburbia” by Mike Erre. Nothing like a good 13-hour drive to Michigan (plus 13 hours back) to get you in the reading mood.

So the book compares the Jesus from the Bible (the Jesus of Nazareth) to the watered down version we worship today (the Jesus of Suburbia). The book is filled with examples and details about how much of a rebel Jesus was and talks about how we’ve subsisted that rebellious Jesus for one that better fits our comfortable lifestyle and culture. Truly a fascinating read!

I wanted to share an excerpt with you all from the last chapter. It’s a great piece on how we’re led to ministry in whatever we do. Erre states that we’re quick to label things “Christian” and “Non-Christian” when in actuality we should see and portray Christ through all things, including the so called “non-Christian” things (ie work, school, driving, eating dinner, etc.)

“Who, then, are the best missionaries, the best demonstrators of the gospel? The pastors? No way. We’re “paid” to be religious. I think it’s the mortgage brokers, moms, students, janitors, baristas, and executives who fill our churches. How does God reach lawyers? By dressing up some of his children as lawyers and putting them to work. How does God reach college students? By dressing up his children as college students and sending them off to school. As Jesus put in Matthew 28:19, As you are going through life, “make disciples of all nations.”

I’ve realized that I’m far too quick to separate my ministry (Philmont) from my everyday life. I want to start looking at my entire life as a ministry and use Philmont, as well as time spent doing mundane things while off the road, as outlets for my ministry.

So if you’re looking for a good read I recommend diving into this sometime!
If you have any recommendations for me feel free to fire them my way!

-Scott
Tweet me @ ScottyMcTaube

5 Comments

  1. Here is a link for those of you wanting to buy the book.

  2. That’ll be next on my reading list then! I’m always looking for new books, so thanks for sharing!

    If you haven’t read the book that Todd recommended a couple of posts back, you should. My mom bought me ‘The Irresistable Revolution’ by Shane Claiborne without realizing that I intended to read it and I absolutely love it so far!

  3. Someday I’ll make it to a half-price books to get that. In the meantime (I may have already suggested this previously, but I don’t remember), I highly suggest reading “The Orphaned Anythings” by Stephen Christian. It’s a short, easy read, but it’ll get you thinking. Also, if you haven’t already, “Perks of Being A Wallflower” is uber good.

  4. I’m always impressed with you Philmont guys! So many claim to be Christian and “in ministry” but you guys really are! Hey, along the same lines as “Jesus of Suburbia” you may want to read, “No more Christian Nice Guy” by Paul Coughlin. Same premise: men are told to sit down, be quiet and be nice. But that’s not what Jesus did, nor those who followed Him. THey stirred things up, upset the status quo and changed the WORLD!


Leave a Reply

