Skip navigation

1 Timothy 4:12 – Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.

If there’s any advice I could give to students right now It’d be to live it up while you still have the chance at school. Be sociable. Build friendships. Care for others. Be bold. Being out of school for quite some time now, I’ve really missed what being in school has to offer. You’ve only got a short amount of time (it’ll fly by, you’ll see) so take full advantage of this opportunity to witness to such a variety of people and what could be a potentially large amount of people you have personally affected.

With that said, I personally challenge everyone to be a light in a dark place. Youth groups, church activities, and campus ministries are a great thing, and they equip you with the spiritual tools necessary to take on things of the world. But if you limit yourself to just surrounding yourself with other believers, you’ll never be tested and it’ll all be a waste. This may not be what you’ve been taught growing up and what I’m saying may be unconventional, but that’s what being a follower of Christ is truly about – taking this gift you’ve been given and spreading His light in dark places.

In the book of John, Jesus was on a journey and traveled through Samaria to reach his destination up North. As he traveled through Samaria he eventually met a woman at the local town’s well (a story I’m sure you’re familiar with, read it again anyway. John 4: 1-41). This is significant because at this time in history it was taboo for a Jew to walk through Samaria, not to mention be seen talking with a Samarian. I’d be like a member from one street gang walking casually through a rival gang’s territory without even caring about the danger. In fact, Jews would customarily walk allll the way around Samaria just to get to the other side, making the trip ridiculously longer than it logically should be. Jesus knew that he had to meet with the lost on their home turf, where THEY are most comfortable- though it may have been uncomfortable for him. Jesus was a light in a dark place. When he came offering salvation to the woman, she told everyone in her town about the amazing man she had just met and what he did for her. She started a local Christ revolution! The Samarians actually wanted Jesus, a jew, to stay longer and not leave so soon! Think how different Christ’s ministry would have been if he had just preached every Sabbath at a church or temple. No, he dared to witness in a place that needed salvation, regardless of the differences between him and everyone else.

How cool is that! What an awesome example of how we should live as true followers of Christ.

So I challenge all of you to be a light in a dark place this week, whether it be on your sports team, in your cafeteria, at a party, or maybe even while you’re hangin with your best friends.

Not only am I challenging you, I dare you! You may be amazed at the results.

-Todd

5 Comments

  1. Major kudos. This has been an issue I’ve been trying to bring up on my campus and at my church with little success. If you don’t walk with people who don’t know anything about Jesus how are they going to find Him? If you’re a light that’s fabulous, but your light is only going to shine if you’re in the dark.

    1 Timothy 4:12 is definitely one of my favorites- always has been. ^_^

  2. Kudos Todd! Excellent insights. You are well beyond your years.

  3. I love this post! Great job on writing it Todd. It is important to be a light in a dark place, just as it is important to be involved in a youth group or a good group of believers where your “light” can grow. Thank you for reminding me of these things. =]

    P.S. Can’t wait to see you at the King’s Fair in Vegas this 30th.

  4. Dear Todd,

    Konnichiwa.

    Arigato so much for sharing this piece of encouragement. Jesus was pretty much a baller at doing all the unconventional stuff. Kinda funny how we turned it around and think we need to exist in a Christian bubble. :\ Odd.

    Definitely. Always. A Punch in the Face.

  5. Great post, Todd! This is something I have trouble with, mostly because I am homeschooled (Don’t get me wrong. I would hate to be in public or private school, it would drive me crazy!), my extra activities (piano, church, guitar, ect.) involve either my youth group, a teacher, and myself, so I don’t meet a lot of people. Plus, I am kind of introverted, so starting a conversation with someone is pretty difficult. Thank you for the encouragement!

    And for all the other teens reading this blog I would encourage you to check out http://www.therebelution.com/blog It would take forever for me to explain what it is about right now, but trust me, it’s worth the time!

    Arielle


Leave a Reply

