Skip navigation

You know what never made sense to me. Saying “Bless You” after someone sneezes. I’m sure people are going to disagree with me but I’m gonna speak my mind here. Think about it. Webster says a sneeze is “a convulsive expulsion of air from the lungs through the nose and mouth, most commonly caused by foreign particles irritating the nasal mucosa”. So essentially, we’re bestowing blessings on someone whose nasal cavaties were just irritated. There’s a lot of history behind the origin of the term “bless you”. In the middle ages it was believed that a sneeze was the release of an evil spirit from the body. Another origin is that a sneeze was a sign of bad luck and a person would respond with “God bless you” to wish them well in their potentially bad circumstances. But hey, I’m not a superstitious guy. I’m not even a little stitious. So I don’t believe in bad luck or evil leaving the body through nasal irritation. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not promoting the boycott of the phrase “God Bless You”. Instead we can still pray blessings on someone on our own terms, not because they just flung mucus everywhere. In fact, If some one were to sneeze on me I would do the opposite of blessing them. Maybe it’s just a southern ettiquette thing. Am I wrong in thinking this?

Cornerstone 09 is just around the corner. This festival holds a special place in our hearts for Philmont. For those who didn’t know, Cornerstone is the birthplace of our signing to Forefront Records. Where EMI first discovered the greatest rock band to every graze the earth. Of course this was before I was in the band, but I am thankful to join up shortly thereafter. We’ll be headlining the Indie Community Stage on Wed. night the 1st. So see you there!

Lastly, I would like to proudly share with you all my top 3 favorite youtube videos to date (could change). Please share any of your favorites as well. I would love to add to the list.

 Van Halen Shreds

: Keep in mind this is an overdub of a great solo turned ugly

 Love Story

: A truly great work of art. A real tear jerker. Surprise Ending.

 Denny Blaze

: Oh, you’ll see.

God Bless You,

Todd

3 Comments

  1. AHAH that average homeboy video is awesome. I just went into my favorites on youtube to show you this awesome video but it turns out it was removed for terms of service violations…LAME.

    Next time you’re on youtube look up like slap chop and sham wow parodies.

    They’re all sooo funny.

  2. Todd,

    OK, I watched the Van Halen video. He is good, but nothing compared to your band mate. Too bad people have not had the pleasure of hearing the amazing sounds filling our house behind the closed door of Josiah’s room when, for hours on end, he’s in creative mode. It truly astounds me! I’ll try to secretly set up a video camera so that all can hear and see the incomparable emanations! BTW, I’m not biased!

  3. Todd,
    You seriously crack me up:oD
    Can’t wait to see you guys again!
    TTYL LDB!!
    big hugs and high 5’s!!
    :o)kim


Leave a Reply

